Duquesne Kline Law Library News

New HeinOnline Database and Other Gun Regulation Resources

HeinOnline has added a new database titled "Gun Regulation and Legislation in America" to the DCLI's subscription. Please see the below for more information and a link to that database, along with a sampling of other resources related to gun regulation and the Second Amendment.

New Database:

Gun Regulation and Legislation in America | HeinOnline (Duquesne University) This link opens in a new window

A collection of more than 500 titles including scholarly articles, compiled federal legislative histories, congressional hearings, CRS Reports, Supreme Court briefs and more. It also includes a bibliography of additional resources.

Books from the Collection:

• The Law of Guns in Pennsylvania (2017)
• Reducing gun violence in America : informing policy with evidence and analysis (2013)
• Gun Control Debate (2103)
• The Second Amendment on trial : critical essays on District of Columbia v. Heller (2013)
• Gunfight : the battle over the right to bear arms in America (2011)

Duquesne University Resources:

• Gun Control Posts (Juris Magazine Blog)
• Gun Violence Resource Guide (Gumberg Library)

News and Current Awareness Resources:

• Guns and Gun Control Articles (New York Times)
• Second Amendment Articles (American Bar Association Journal)
• Gun Control Articles (Politico)
• Ethan McLeod, Gun Control: Will the GOP-led Congress further loosen gun restrictions?, 2017 C.Q .Researcher.

Think Tank Search:

• Think Tank Search (Search for "Second Amendment"): The Think Tank Search is a custom Google search of more than 600 think tank websites developed by Harvard University.

Recent Congressional Research Service Publications (from the Homeland Security Digital Library):

• ATF's Ability to Regulate 'Bump Stocks' [April 11, 2018]
• Can the Government Prohibit 18-Year-Olds from Purchasing Firearms? [March 13, 2018]
• Arming Teachers as a Response to School Shootings [March 13, 2018]
• Gun Control: Concealed Carry Legislation in the 115th Congress [January 30, 2018]
• Post-'Heller' Second Amendment Jurisprudence [November 21, 2017]
• Second Amendment Right to Sell Firearms? The Ninth Circuit, Sitting En Banc, Weighs In [November 02, 2017]

Additional Second Amendment Resources:

• Second Amendment Articles (Digital Commons)
• Chi Luu, Revisiting the Messy Language of the Second Amendment, JSTOR Daily (April 4, 2018).
• Gun Ownership and the Supreme Court (Library of Congress)
• The Interactive Constitution: The Second Amendment (National Constitution Center)

Additional Gun Policy Resources:

• Firearms Resources (Rand Corporation)
• Gun Control Resources (Cato Institute)
• Gun Policy (Pew Research Center)
• Gun Control & Ownership Research Guide (Vanderbilt University Library)
• Johns Hopkins Center for Gun Policy and Research