Research Guides Home: Popular Database Overview: Introduction

Lists of Databases

Duquesne Kline Law Library Databases
Gumberg Library Databases
Duquesne Kline students, faculty, and staff may use Gumberg Library's databases.

Overview of the DCLI's Databases and Electronic Resources

Study Aids

Study Aids on Overdrive | Lexis Nexis This link opens in a new window
*Electronic versions of the Mastering, Understanding, and Q&A series. Multiple students can use this resource at the same time (i.e., the book is not "checked out" to only one person at a time). Log in using your MULTIPASS.
Lexis Digital Library Support & Training
CALI This link opens in a new window
*Interactive tutorials on substantive legal subjects and academic success topics. You must establish an individual account, and you need the registration code to set up that account.
Law students will need to set up individual accounts to use CALI.
Quimbee This link opens in a new window
*Videos, case briefs, quizzes, flashcards, practice tests, and more. You must establish an individual account.
Students who wish to have a Quimbee account should email lawlibrary@duq.edu and an invitation will be sent to you to create your account.

News Resources

New York Times Academic Pass This link opens in a new window
*Access to the online New York Times. Email newsletters are available.

Westlaw Today
*Topical newsfeeds. Email newsletters are available, including the Daily Docket (coverage of the day's top stories).

Legal Intelligencer This link opens in a new window
*The online version of the daily Philadelphia legal newspaper, including coverage of the Pittsburgh legal market. Email newsletters are available.
Please note that our subscription only provides access to the Legal Intelligencer, with very limited access to articles from other publications that are part of the Law.com network and which are provided on the same website as the Legal Intelligencer.
Law360 | LexisNexis This link opens in a new window
*Topical newsfeeds with email newsletters available. Law students may use this resource in the law library; law school faculty members can ask the library staff about setting up remote access.
Advanced Search Guide

General Legal Research Databases

Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
*Lexis+ is a full-text legal information retrieval system. It includes legal analytics and brief analysis tools.
Lexis+ Overview Guide
Westlaw Precision This link opens in a new window
*Westlaw is a full-text legal information retrieval system. It includes legal analytics and brief analysis tools, along with the Westlaw Today news service.
Westlaw Overview Guide
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
**HeinOnline provides access to journal articles and other materials, including primary law materials. Materials are presented in image format, meaning that they appear as they were originally published.
HeinOnline Overview Guide
Fastcase (Remote Access) This link opens in a new window
*Fastcase is a low-cost alternative to Lexis+ and Westlaw Edge. It includes a collection of treatises and practice guides.
Help and Training | Scope of Coverage

Specialized Legal Research Databases

Proquest Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
**Provides access to federal legislative histories, including bills, reports, hearings, Congressional Record sections, signing statements, and statutes.
Quick Start LibGuide | Help
Making of Modern Law | Gale This link opens in a new window
*Full-text access for historical treatises.
Bloomberg Law
A general legal research website that features access to data from PACER as well as a variety of news and corporate law resources. Duquesne Kline faculty should contact lawlibrary@duq.edu for limited mediated access.

* Access limited to either Duquesne Law faculty and students or Duquesne Law faculty, staff, and students.

** Access limited to the Duquesne University community.

Guide originally created by Julie Tedjeske

Last Updated: October 10, 2023

Next: The Library Catalog >>