If members of the Duquesne University community need help with research or using the law library's resources, please contact us.
Email: lawlibrary@duq.edu
Administrative Law (Concepts and Insights Series - 3rd ed.) by 
Agency, Partnerships and LLCs (Concepts and Insights Series - 2nd ed.)) by
Contents: Introduction: A typology of business associations -- Agency -- Partnerships -- Limited liability companies.
Civil Procedure (Concepts and Insights Series - 3rd ed.) by 
Climate Change Law (Concepts and Insights Series - 2nd ed.) by 
Complex Litigation and Its Alternatives (Concepts and Insights Series - 2nd ed.) by 
Conflict of Laws (Concepts and Insights Series - 2nd ed.) by 
Copyright Law (Concepts and Insights Series) by 
Corporation Law (Concepts and Insights - 2nd ed.) by 
Elements of Bankruptcy (Concepts and Insights Series - 6th ed.) by 
Employment Discrimination Law (Concepts and Insights Series - 3rd ed.) by Employment Discrimination Law (Concepts and Insights Series - 3rd ed.) by 
Family Law in Perspective (Concepts and Insights Series - 3rd ed.) by 
Federal Corporate Taxation (Concepts and Insights Series - 8th ed.)) by 
The Forms and Functions of Tort Law (Concepts and Insights - 5th ed.) by 
Insider Trading Law and Policy (Concepts and Insights Series) by 
International Law Frameworks (Concepts and Insights Series) by 
International Taxation (Concepts and Insights Series - 3rd ed.) by 
The Law of Property (Concepts and Insights Series) by 
Legislation and Statutory Interpretation (Concepts and Insights Series - 3rd ed.) by 
Mergers and Acquisitions (Concepts and Insights Series - 3rd.) by 
Partnership Income Taxation (Concepts and Insights Series - 5th ed.), 5th by 
Patent Law (Concepts and Insights Series) by 
Sales Law (Concepts and Insights Series - 2nd ed.) by 
Securities Law (Concepts and Insights Series - 6th ed.) by 
Transnational Litigation in United States Courts (Concepts and Insights Series) by 
Trusts and Estates (Concepts and Insights Series - 2nd ed.) by 
International Trade Law Including the WTO, Technology Transfers, and Import/Export/Customs Law (Concise Hornbooks - 2nd ed.) by
Principles of International Trade Law commences with coverage of the World Trade Organization and its many agreements, followed by Customs and Import/Export Law, and ends with coverage of Technology Transfers across Borders. Principles is intended to provide considerably more depth, analysis, citations and related documents than found in a Nutshell. Principles of International Trade Law can be used in connection with any international trade or international business transactions coursebook, or on its own. Key trade law documents are included.
Principles of Administrative Law (Concise Hornbooks - 3rd ed.) by
This book provides an accessible, yet sophisticated treatment of the essential principles of administrative law. Topics covered include a history of the American administrative state; theories of agency behavior; separation of powers and procedural due process, as they are implicated by the administrative process; the procedural framework of the Administrative Procedure Act; formal adjudicatory procedure; informal rulemaking procedure; and the availability, timing, and scope of judicial review. The book includes charts and diagrams that assist the reader in visualizing the major elements of the administrative process.
Principles of Antitrust (Concise Hornbooks) by
Nearly all of the aspects of federal antitrust policy are covered in this book. And it's written so you don't need a background in economics to understand it. Expert narration states the "black letter" law and presents policy arguments for alternatives. Text also includes an analysis of recent Supreme Court and lower-court decisions.
Principles of Arbitration Law (Concise Hornbooks) by
The Concise Hornbook Principles of Arbitration Law is an authoritative and extensively cited treatise on arbitration. It thoroughly discusses general arbitration law--from federal preemption of state law to the formation, performance, and enforcement of arbitration agreements--and provides in-depth coverage of specialized law governing international arbitration and labor arbitration. The last few decades have witnessed the growth of a large body of legal doctrine--from statutes, judicial decisions, and other sources--focused on arbitration. This Concise Hornbook summarizes that body of law, so should be useful to lawyers and scholars researching arbitration law and to students learning about arbitration. This Concise Hornbook is designed to be used as the primary or secondary text in a law school course. Many teachers of arbitration design their courses to develop a wide array of practice skills, generally through the use of role-playing exercises. Because this book is clear and concise, students reading it can quickly gain a solid understanding of arbitration's central concepts and legal doctrines. This efficient use of time enables the teacher to devote many class sessions to role-playing exercises, and discussion of them. This Concise Hornbook can also serve as the primary text for arbitration seminars. Before venturing into a field of scholarship, students generally need a solid foundation in the field's central concepts and legal doctrines. This book provides that foundation with only a limited amount of reading, thus enabling students to devote substantial time to the seminar's more-advanced work of reading scholarly articles and writing original papers.
Principles of Bankruptcy Law (Concise Hornbooks - 2nd ed.) by 
Principles of Business Organizations (Concise Hornbooks - 2nd ed.) by 
Principles of California and Federal Evidence, a Student's Guide to the Course and Bar (Concise Hornbooks) by
Students studying evidence in California learn the Federal Rules of Evidence (FRE) and the California Evidence Code (CEC). Most California evidence professors test on both sets of rules. In particular, professors test the differences between the FRE and the CEC. Upon graduation, the essay and performance portions of the California State Bar Exam test the FRE and the CEC. As in school, the bar often emphasizes differences between the two sets of evidence rules. This book highlights the similarities and differences between the FRE and the CEC. The book covers the evidence rules you encounter in law school and on the bar. The book is unique in the amount of attention focused on preparing students for evidence questions in law school and on the bar. In addition to clearly written, concise text describing the many aspects of evidence law, the book contains numerous practice exams, including law school exams, California bar exam questions, analysis of exam questions, model answers, and multiple choice questions (and answers). The book has two goals: First, equip students to excel in the law school course on evidence (and the trial advocacy course), and Second, prepare students for the California Bar Exam.
Principles of Civil Procedure (Concise Hornbooks - 5th ed.) by 
Principles of Constitutional Law (Concise Hornbooks - 5th ed.) by 
Principles of Contract Law (Concise Hornbooks - 4th ed.) by
This overview of contract law explains concepts clearly and concisely, in an informal, often humorous style that has made it popular with students over the years. For ease of reading and understanding, the book refrains from including complex textual footnotes. Instead, the footnotes cite cases, with most including short quotations to substantiate assertions made in the text. The book also contains numerous examples and illustrations. Cross references enable readers to review concepts that constitute building blocks for the current material.
Principles of Criminal Law (Concise Hornbooks - 3rd ed.) by 
Principles of Employment Discrimination Law (Concise Hornbooks) by 
Principles of Employment Law (Concise Hornbooks - 2nd ed.) by 
Principles of Environmental Law (Concise Hornbooks) by
Content: The Clean Water Act -- The Clean Air Act -- The Resource Conservation and Recovery Act -- Regulatory enforcement -- The Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act -- The Coastal Zone Management Act -- The Endangered Species Act -- The National Environmental Policy Act.
Principles of European Union law : including BREXIT (Concise Hornbooks - 5th ed.) by
This advanced, detailed guide provides a comprehensive review of laws and policies of the European Union. Chapter 1 looks at the history of the European Union including BREXIT. Chapters 2 and 3 focus on critical EU processes behind lawmaking and litigation. Chapter 4 examines the free movement of goods, services, capital, and people (including mass migration), while Chapter 5 covers a broad selection of internal EU legal regimes concerning business law, ranging from taxation to agriculture. The EU's complex external trade, foreign investment and customs law is analyzed in Chapter 6. Antitrust law and regulation of business agreements are covered in Chapter 7. The Treaty on European Union and the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, along with the EU Charter of Fundamental Freedoms, are reproduced in Appendices.
Principles of Federal Income Taxation of Individuals (Concise Hornbooks - 8th ed.) by
The perfect companion for students in law school tax courses and practitioners seeking a helpful introduction, this popular reference has been completely updated to reflect recent developments. Like prior editions, it includes analysis of cases and concepts from the leading casebooks on federal income tax, complete with explanations, diagrams and flow charts. The book includes extensive treatment of the time value of money issues.
Principles of Federal Jurisdiction (Concise Hornbooks - 3rd ed.) by 
Principles of Intellectual Property Law (Concise Hornbooks - 3rd ed.) by 
Principles of International Business Transactions (Concise Hornbooks - 4th ed.) by
Contents: Structuring the international sales transaction -- International sales law -- Commercial terms -- Bills of lading -- Sales agent and distributorship agreements -- Documentary letters of credit -- Standby letters of credit -- International electronic commerce -- An introduction to the WTO and U.S. trade authorities -- United States tariffs and duty free imports -- Customs classification, valuation and origin -- Antidumping duties -- Subsidies and countervailing duties -- United States export controls -- The Foreign Corrupt Practices Act and the OECD Anti-Bribery Convention -- United States boycott and anti-boycott law -- Free trade agreements and customs unions -- Franchising and trademark licensing -- Patent and knowhow licensing -- Counterfeit, infringing and gray market imports : United States Section 337 proceedings -- Introduction to foreign direct investments -- Cross-border mergers and acquisitions -- Treaties and agreements protecting foreign investment -- Expropriation of an investment -- OPIC and MIGA investment insurance -- International business litigation -- Litigation involving foreign sovereigns -- International commercial arbitration.
Principles of International Law (Concise Hornbooks - 3rd ed.) by
This fully-updated third edition provides a comprehensive survey of public international law, with useful references throughout to current events, classic and contemporary cases and scholarship. It is designed as a stand-alone text or as a complement to all the major casebooks on the topic. The first part of the book addresses how international law is created, interpreted and enforced; the second part focuses on the interface of international law and national law; and the final part covers key subject matter areas: human rights, injury to aliens, the law of the sea, international environmental law, international criminal law, and the use of force.
Principles of International Litigation and Arbitration (Concise Hornbooks - 2nd ed.) by 
Principles of Legal Research (Concise Hornbooks - 2nd ed.) by 
Principles of Natural Resources Law (Concise Hornbooks) by 
Principles of Remedies Law (Concise Hornbooks - 3rd ed.) by
Contents: Overview -- Equity and equitable remedies -- Contempt -- Preventive injunctions -- Temporary injunctive relief -- Injunctions in context -- Restitution -- Declaratory judgments -- Damages.
Principles of Sales Law (Concise Hornbooks - 2nd ed.) by
This book provides a comprehensive introduction to Articles 1 and 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code (UCC). It provides a useful resource for students and practitioners dealing with sales or contract issues. Students of contracts or sales and any practitioner dealing with sales or contracts issues will profit from this book's use.
Principles of Securities Regulation (Concise Hornbooks - rev. 4th ed.) by 
Principles of Tax Policy (Concise Hornbooks - 2nd ed.) by
This overview of tax policy explains essential concepts clearly and concisely. Chapters open with brief descriptions of a policy area, providing a synopsis of the current state of the law. This is followed by a balanced and apolitical discussion of arguments for and against the current law and commonly proposed alternatives. Wide-ranging coverage of all critical tax policies from federal Social Security and income taxes to state and local budgeting to international transfer pricing examine the building blocks of the tax system. Ample footnotes provide easy access to articles and standard reference works allowing readers to dig deeper on their own.
Principles of Tort Law (Concise Hornbooks - 4th ed.) by
Contents: Tort law and its purposes -- Intentional torts -- Assault -- Battery -- Intrusion -- False imprisonment -- False arrest -- Intentional infliction of emotional distress -- Fraud -- Varieties of intentional torts -- Frontier theories -- Defense of property -- Consent -- Introduction to negligence -- Doctrine and terminology of negligence -- Possessors of land: classifications -- Liability of possessors of land for third party acts -- Statutory violations -- Professional standards of care -- Express assumption of risk -- Informed consent -- Implied assumption of risk: generally -- Contributory negligence -- Classifying defenses based on plaintiff's conduct -- Comparative fault -- Strict liability for activities -- Private nuisance -- Public nuisance -- Strict liability for products -- Defect in products liability -- Private necessity -- Proof: an overview -- Circumstantial evidence generally -- Res ipsa loquitur -- Expert evidence and professional negligence -- Proof of causation and scientific evidence -- Joint and multiple liabilities -- Apportionment among multiple defendants -- Settlement -- Duty and proximate cause: an introduction -- Statutory violations and "cause" -- Intervening criminal acts and other tortious behavior of third parties -- Negligently inflicted emotional distress -- Bystanders -- Rescuers -- Economic loss -- Duty to act -- Defamation: the basic law -- Constitutional defamation law -- Face and opinion -- Media and privacy -- Quantifying economic losses for personal injury -- Assessing intangibles -- Punitive damages -- Torts involving contracts.
Administrative Law : Examples & Explanations / by 
Agency, partnerships, and LLCs / Daniel S. Kleinberger (Examples & Explanations) by 
Antitrust : Examples and Explanations / by 
Bankruptcy and Debtor/Creditor : Examples & Explanations / by 
Civil Procedure : Examples and Explanations (9th ed.) / by 
Conflict of Laws : Examples & Explanations / by 
Constitutional Law : individual rights : examples and explanations / by 
Constitutional Law : National Power and Federalism : Examples & Explanation (9th ed.) / by 
Contracts : examples & explanations by 
Copyright : Examples & Explanations (6th ed.) / by 
Corporations : Examples and Explanations (9th ed.) / by 
Criminal Law : Examples & Explanations (8th ed.) / by 
Criminal procedure : the constitution and the police : examples & explanations (10th ed.) / by 
Criminal Procedure II : From Bail to Jail : Examples and Explanations (5th ed.) / by 
Dispute resolution : examples & explanations (3rd ed.) / by
Contents: An introduction to negotiation -- The law of negotiation -- Decision making in negotiation -- An introduction to mediation -- Keeping secrets : confidentiality in mediation --Dispute resolution within the court system-- An introduction to arbitration -- Must this dispute go to arbitration? -- Federal preemption and the law(s) of arbitration -- Attorneys, clients, and dispute resolution.
Employment Discrimination : Examples & Explanations (4th ed.) / by 
Environmental Law : Examples & Explanaations (9th ed.) / by 
Evidence : Examples & Explanations (13th ed.) / by 
Family Law : Examples & Explanations (6th ed.) / by 
First Amendment : Examples & Explanations / by 
Intellectual Property : Examples & Explanation (7th ed.) / by 
International Law : Examples & Explanations (3rd ed.) / by 
Law of torts : examples & explanations (6th ed.) / by 
Legal Writing : Examples and Explanations (4th ed.) / by 
Legislation, Statutory Interpretation, and Election Law : Examples & Explanations (2nd ed.) / by 
Professional responsibility : examples & explanations (6th ed.) by 
Property : Examples and Explanations (7th ed.) by 
Real Estate Planning and Development : Examples & Explanations / by 
Real estate transactions : Examples & Explanations (7th ed.) by 
Remedies : Examples & Explanations (4th ed.) / by 
Sales and Leases : Examples & Explanations (8th ed.) by
A favorite among successful students, and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester. Use at the beginning and midway through the semester to deepen your understanding through clear explanations, corresponding hypothetical fact patterns, and analysis. Then use to study for finals by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the accompanying analysis. Designed to complement your casebook, the trusted Examples & Explanations titles get right to the point in a conversational, often humorous style that helps you learn the material each step of the way and prepare for the exam at the end of the course. The unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations series is invaluable to teach yourself the subject from the first day of class until your last review before the final. Each guide: helps you learn new material by working through chapters that explain each topic in simple language challenges your understanding with hypotheticals similar to those presented in class provides valuable opportunity to study for the final by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the corresponding analysis quickly gets to the point in conversational style laced with humor remains a favorite among law school students is often recommended by professors who encourage the use of study guides works with ALL the major casebooks, suits any class on a given topic provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures
Secured Transactions : Examples & Explanations (7th ed.) / by 
Securities regulation : examples & explanations (8th ed.) by 
Wills, Trusts, and Estates : Examples & Explanations (8th ed.) by
A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.
Understanding Bankruptcy (eBook - 4th ed.)
Understanding Capital Punishment Law by 
Understanding Constitutional Law (eBook - 5th ed.) by 
Understanding Contracts (eBook - 5th ed.)
Understanding Copyright Law (eBook - 7th ed.)
Understanding Criminal Procedure Volume 1: Investigation (eBook - 8th ed.)
Understanding Election Law and Voting Rights (eBook - [1st] ed.) by 
Understanding Employment Law (eBook - 3rd ed.)
Understanding Environmental Law (eBook - 4th ed.)
Understanding Estate and Gift Taxation (eBook - 3rd ed.) by 
Understanding Evidence (ebook - 6th ed)
Understanding Family Law (eBook - 4th ed.)
Understanding Federal Courts and Jurisdiction (eBook - 2nd ed.)
Understanding Federal Income Taxation (eBook - 7th ed.)
Understanding Immigration Law (eBook - 3rd ed.)
Understanding Insurance Law (eBook - 6th ed.)
Understanding Intellectual Property Law (eBook - 4th ed.)
Understanding International Business and Financial Transactions (eBook - 4th ed.) by 
Understanding International Criminal Law (eBook - 4th ed.) by 
Understanding International Law (eBook - 3rd ed.)
Understanding Juvenile Law (eBook - 5th ed.) by 
Understanding Labor Law (eBook - 4th ed.) by 
Understanding Lawyers' Ethics (eBook - 6th ed.)
Understanding Modern Real Estate Transactions (eBook - 4th ed.)
Understanding Negotiable Instruments and Payment Systems (eBook - 2nd ed.) by 
Understanding Partnership and LLC Taxation (eBook - 5th ed.)
Understanding Patent Law (eBook - 3rd ed.) by 
Understanding Products Liability (eBook - 2nd)
Understanding Sales and Leases of Goods (eBook - 3rd ed.) by 
Understanding Securities Law (eBook - 8th ed.)
Understanding Taxation of Business Entities (eBook - 2nd ed.) by 
Understanding the Law of Terrorism (eBook - 2nd ed.)
Understanding the Law of Zoning and Land Use Controls (eBook - 3rd ed.)
Understanding Torts (ebook - 7th ed.)
Understanding Trusts and Estates (eBook - 7th ed.) by 
Understanding White Collar Crime (eBook - 5th ed.)
Mastering Administrative Law (eBook - 2nd ed.) by 
Mastering Alternative Dispute Resolution (eBook - 1st ed.) by
Mastering Alternative Dispute Resolution covers what readers need to know about negotiation, mediation, and arbitration without requiring them to tunnel through a morass of rules, regulations, statutes, and case law. Negotiation, mediation, and arbitration are skills which are usually taught by doing, but there are a number of fundamentals that need to be studied. This book introduces the reader to those fundamentals and uses examples to show how to put them to practical use.
Mastering American Indian Law (eBook - 1st ed.) by 
Mastering Appellate Advocacy and Process (eBook - Rev. ed.) by 
Mastering Art Law (eBook - 2nd ed.) by 
Mastering Bankruptcy (eBook - 1st) by 
Mastering Civil Procedure (eBook - 3rd ed.) by 
Mastering Constitutional Law (eBook - 2nd ed.)
Mastering Corporate Tax (eBook - 2nd ed.) by 
Mastering Corporations and Other Business Entities (eBook - 2nd ed.) by 
Mastering Elder Law (eBook - 2nd ed.) by 
Mastering Family Law (eBook - 1st ed.) by 
Mastering First Amendment Law (eBook) by 
Mastering Income Tax (eBook - 2nd ed.) by 
Mastering Intellectual Property (eBook - 1st) by 
Mastering Legal Analysis and Drafting (eBook - 2nd ed.)
Mastering Legislation, Regulation, and Statutory Interpretation (eBook - 3rd ed.) by 
Mastering Property Law (eBook - Rev. ed.)
Mastering Sales (eBook) by 
Mastering Secured Transactions (eBook - 2nd) by 
Mastering Statutory Interpretation (eBook - 2nd ed.) by 
Mastering Tort Law (eBook - 3rd ed.)
Mastering Trademark and Unfair Competition Law (eBook - 1st ed.) by 
Exam Pro on Business Associations, Objective (2nd ed.) by 
Exam Pro on Civil Procedure (3rd ed.) by 
Exam Pro on Contracts, Essay by 
Exam Pro on Contracts, Objective by 
Exam Pro on Professional Responsibility, Objective (4th ed.) by Exam Pro on Professional Responsibility, Objective (4th ed.) by 
Exam Pro Workbook on Estates and Future Interests (3rd ed.) by 
Questions & Answers: Administrative Law (4th ed.) by
This study guide uses over 200 multiple-choice and short-answer questions to test your students' knowledge of administrative law and procedure. This book divides the major administrative law topics into eleven categories. It begins with introductory questions, then moves to questions about agency structure and organization, adjudication and rulemaking procedures, non-legislative rulemaking procedures, retroactivity, the availability of and standard for judicial review, the government's and public's access to information, and ends with questions about the availability of attorney's fees. Following these topics is a comprehensive Practice Final Exam. The latest edition includes new questions and updates based on recent cases and legislation. It also includes a brief explanation of how to approach multiple choice questions. Finally, the Practice Exam has been completely rewritten to include questions used on an actual administrative law exam.
Questions & Answers: Antitrust (eBook - 2nd ed.) by
This second edition of Questions & Answers: Antitrust adds many new questions reflecting developments in antitrust law over the past decade: challenges to NCAA professionalism rules limiting athletes' rights in Name, Image, and Likeness (NIL); pay for delay agreements; intellectual property limits on antitrust; credit card platforms; and trade associations. With these additions, students will continue to better understand what they're learning and prepare effectively for exams by applying concepts learned in antitrust courses. This study guide includes over 150 multiple-choice and short-answer questions arranged topically for ease of use during the semester, plus an additional set of 40 questions comprising a comprehensive "practice exam." For each multiple-choice question, the book provides a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains thoroughly why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question is designed to be answered in fifteen minutes or less, and also includes a thoughtful, comprehensive, yet brief, model answer.
Questions & Answers: Bankruptcy (eBook - 2nd ed.) by
The Second Edition of Questions & Answers: Bankruptcy builds on the excellence, scope, and usability of the First Edition. The book contains 398 multiple-choice and short-answer questions with clear, detailed answers for each question, along with a two-hour, comprehensive practice exam, also with detailed, step-by-step explanations. The questions and answers cover the major chapters of the Bankruptcy Code (7, 11, 12, and 13) and include expertly designed questions on consumer bankruptcy, corporation liquidation, corporate reorganization, family farms, bankruptcy procedure, and many other issues. Specific coverage includes: the structure of the Code, bankruptcy eligibility, property of the estate and exclusions, the automatic stay, claims resolution and distribution, administrative powers, executory contracts, avoiding powers, preferences and exceptions, strong-arm powers, fraudulent transfers, recovery of avoided transfers, discharge and dischargeability, exemptions, means-testing, redemption, reaffirmation, reorganization plans in both chapter 11 and chapter 13, plan confirmation, advanced issues in chapter 11, non-discrimination, lien avoidance, and revocation of plan confirmation. A robust mix of both practical and policy-oriented questions, the second edition of Questions & Answers: Bankruptcy is completely updated to incorporate the latest revisions to the Bankruptcy Code and Rules, as well as recent case law developments. The book is an ideal study aid for students taking introductory and advanced bankruptcy courses, and is perfect for practitioners seeking bankruptcy certification.
Questions & Answers: Business Associations (eBook - 3rd ed.) by
Questions and Answers: Business Associations helps students better understand and develop their mastery of the law of business association in ways that will help them succeed in a standard survey course, prepare for the bar exam, and enter practice. The third edition of this popular supplement updates, clarifies, and builds upon the coverage of earlier chapters, introduces questions focused on the law of agency, and elaborates on distinctions between the Model Business Corporation Act and the Delaware General Corporation Law. Notably, the revisions of the third edition have been informed by developments announced by the National Conference of Bar Examiners in anticipation of forthcoming revisions to the bar exam. This study guide includes multiple-choice and short-answer questions arranged topically for ease of use during the semester, plus an additional set of questions comprising a comprehensive "practice exam." For each multiple-choice question, the authors have provided a thorough, yet concise, explanation that both indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question is designed to be answered in fifteen minutes or less. For these questions, the authors provide a comprehensive, yet brief, model answer. In all, this study guide provides a useful tool for formative assessment and self-evaluation.
Questions & Answers: Civil Procedure (ebook - 5th ed.) by
Questions and Answers: Civil Procedure is a supplementary text for use primarily by first-year civil procedure students to obtain a clear understanding of the subject. The book is divided into easy-to-find subject areas so students can pinpoint the questions where they need more review. For students seeking a comprehensive review of civil procedure, the book also includes a sample exam covering a wide array of civil procedure subjects. This edition of the book builds on the foundation established in the first four editions, by revising and updating the topics covered to include new developments in the law. It also includes coverage of all the civil procedure subject areas covered on the Multistate Bar Examination. Finally, the questions have been updated to use more inclusive language.
Questions & Answers: Constitutional Law (eBook - 4th ed.) by
This popular study guide for an introductory constitutional law course includes approximately 200 multiple-choice and short-answer questions arranged topically for targeted practice in applying the concepts as the material is covered during the semester, plus an additional two dozen questions comprising a comprehensive "practice exam." The multiple-choice questions include detailed explanations of the answer and the basis, considering the Supreme Court's past decisions and the Constitution's text and structure, for choosing that response over the other three options. Each short-answer question is designed to be answered in less than 15 minutes and includes a thoughtful, complete, and concise model answer. The Fourth Edition has been updated throughout, rewriting some topics to account for the new directions already charted by the Supreme Court in recent decisions on separation of powers, substantive due process, equal protection, free speech, and religion, along with highlighting future potential jurisprudential changes based on the Court's recent emphasis on original historical practices.
Questions & Answers: Contracts (eBook - 3rd ed.) by
The new third edition of Questions & Answers: Contracts contains additional, entirely new questions since the previous edition. Understand better what you're learning in a contracts class by applying concepts as you learn them. Prepare more effectively for exams and the bar exam. This study guide includes 189 multiple-choice and short-answer questions arranged topically for ease of use during the semester, plus an additional set of 42 questions comprising a comprehensive "practice exam." For each multiple-choice question, Professor Burnham provides a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains thoroughly why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question is designed to be answered in fifteen minutes or less. For these questions, Professor Burnham provides a thoughtful, comprehensive, yet brief model answer.
Questions & Answers: Copyright Law (eBook - 2nd ed.) by
Copyright law determines what it means to own works of authorship, and it does so by means of a complex federal statute. Questions & Answers: Copyright Law helps students navigate this challenging subject matter with multiple choice, short answer, and final exam essay questions that test both the concepts and substantive law of copyright. The second edition includes over fifty new multiple choice questions, as well as three new practice examinations. These additions reflect the latest developments in this ever-changing field, including the implications of U.S. Supreme Court decisions such as Petrella v. Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, Kirtsaeng v. John Wiley & Sons, Inc., Golan v. Holder, and American Broadcasting Cos., Inc. v. Aereo, Inc. The questions and practice exams span the varied landscape of copyright, including: Requirements for copyright protection; Copyrightable subject matter; Ownership of copyright; Protection of exclusive rights; Copyright formalities; Length of copyright protection; Infringement; Fair use and other affirmative defenses; Remedies; and Enhanced protection for digital materials.
Questions & Answers: Criminal Law (ebook - 5th ed.) by
Designed for first-year students to understand better what you are learning in the introductory criminal law class and to prepare effectively for the final exam by applying concepts as you learn them. This study guide includes a total of 220 multiple-choice and short-answer questions arranged topically for ease of use during the semester. Twenty of these questions serve as a comprehensive "practice exam" which should be very helpful for the beginning law student especially in preparing for that final exam. For each multiple-choice question, Professor Marcus provides an answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains thoroughly why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question is designed to be answered in fifteen minutes or less. For these questions, Professor Marcus offers a thoughtful, complete, yet brief, model answer.
Questions & Answers: Criminal Procedure--Police Investigation (eBook - 4th ed.) by
This book and its companion, Q&A: Criminal Procedure -- Prosecution and Adjudication, will assist readers' learning and exam preparation in criminal procedure courses and for the bar exam. This volume covers arrest, search and seizure, interrogation, identification, suppression issues, and entrapment.
Questions & Answers: Criminal Procedure--Prosecution and Adjudication (eBook - 4th ed.) by 
Questions & Answers: Employment Discrimination (eBook) by
This study guide uses 155 multiple choice, short-answer, and true/false questions spread over 15 topics to test students' knowledge of analytical skills related to employment discrimination law. It also includes one full final exam, along with four additional issue-spotter questions and four short answer questions of the type often included in final exams. The book begins with introductory questions, then moves to questions about the frameworks and proof structures used to analyze different types of discrimination, and concludes with a series of topics related to more detailed issues relevant to classes protected by Title VII, the Age Discrimination in Employment Act, and the Americans with Disabilities Act. The practice final exam and additional exam-type questions follow these topics.
Questions & Answers: Environmental Law (eBook - 1st ed.) by
This study guide uses multiple-choice and short-answer questions to test your students' knowledge of environmental law doctrine. Each multiple-choice question is accompanied by a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question (designed to be answered in no more than fifteen minutes) is followed by a thoughtful, yet brief, model answer. Q & A: Environmental Law also includes a comprehensive topical index.
Questions & Answers: Evidence (eBook - 5th ed.) by 
Questions & Answers: Family Law (eBook - 4th ed.) by
Using a multiple-choice and short-answer format, this book contains questions and answers regarding a variety of issues covered in family law. The focus is not on the law of a particular jurisdiction but, instead, on the laws of various jurisdictions. Because there is a great deal of overlap with respect to how states approach the resolution of many of the issues that arise in the domestic relations context, this book offers an overview of how various issues are treated across the states. That said, however, the explanations include some of the differing approaches used by the states reflecting differing priorities and emphases. This book is intended to help students hone test-taking skills as well as clarify a variety of issues that arise in family law.
Questions & Answers: Federal Estate & Gift Taxation (eBook - 3rd ed.) by
The third edition of Questions & Answers: Federal Estate and Gift Taxation is a comprehensive updated study guide designed to prepare students for midterms and finals. It has most recently been updated to reflect changes made by the tax act of 2017, commonly referred to as the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act, as well as various new and different interpretations of the estate and gift tax code by courts. This study guide contains over two hundred and forty multiple-choice and short-answer questions that progress through topics similar in sequence and manner to many estate and gift tax courses taught at the law school level. It also contains a comprehensive practice exam designed to prepare students for final exams with explanations about each correct and incorrect answer choice.
Questions & Answers: Federal Income Tax (eBook - 2nd ed.) by
The second edition of Questions & Answers: Federal Income Tax is a comprehensive updated study guide designed to prepare students for midterms and finals. This study guide contains over two hundred multiple-choice and short-answer questions which progress through topics similar in sequence and manner to many federal income tax courses taught at the law school level. This student guide also contains a comprehensive practice exam designed to prepare students for final exams with explanations about each correct and incorrect answer choice.
Questions & Answers: Health Law (eBook) by
Questions and Answers: Health Law is the perfect supplement to help you better understand what you are learning in health law and bioethics. Part of the well-known Questions and Answers series, this indispensable study guide will aid in the mastery of a wide range of topics, spanning from fraud and abuse to public health, hospital governance to human subject research, antitrust to medical aid in dying, and beyond. It offers questions regarding the Affordable Care Act, the Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA), and recent Supreme Court cases. In total, this study aid features over 250 multiple-choice and short-answer questions, arranged by topic for easy use. The text includes detailed answers to each of the questions, highlighting not only the correct answer but also the reasoning as to why the other responses are not correct, so that you develop a more complete understanding. Students buying this book will finally be able to test their health law knowledge in a multiple-choice format. By applying concepts as you learn, this supplement will enable you to prepare more effectively for class, gain a competitive advantage on exams, and become more practice-ready.
Questions & Answers: Intellectual Property (eBook - 3rd ed.) by
The questions and answers in this book cover the broad subject of "intellectual property" in a comprehensive way, targeted to an introductory or survey course. All of the major topics in this fascinating area of law are included--namely, trademark, the right of publicity, trade secret, patent, and copyright--and the coverage has been updated with major changes in the law through mid-2019. The key aspects of each of these areas are systematically addressed using the following organization--subject matter and validity, ownership and duration of rights, infringement and remedies, and defenses and limitations.
Questions & Answers: International Law (eBook - 1st ed.) by
Questions & Answers: International Law offers multiple choice questions and a final practice essay exam covering a wide array of areas likely to be addressed in any International Law course. The areas covered include: Principles of International Law Jurisdiction Sources of International Law The United Nations The Use of Force and Humanitarian Law International Criminal and Human Rights Law Indigenous Peoples International Environmental Law The Law of the Sea; and International Trade Law Like the other titles in the Questions & Answers Series, each multiple-choice question in Questions & Answers: International Law is accompanied by a detailed answer indicating which of the choices is the best answer and explains why that answer is better than the other choices. And each short-answer question is followed by a model answer.
Questions & Answers: Patent Law (eBook - 1st ed.) by
This study guide uses multiple-choice and short-answer questions to test your students' knowledge of patent law doctrine. Each multiple-choice question is accompanied by a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question (designed to be answered in no more than fifteen minutes) is followed by a thoughtful, yet brief, model answer. Q & A: Patent Law also includes a comprehensive topical index.
Questions & Answers: Payment Systems (eBook - 2nd ed.) by
Like the prior edition published in 2003, this edition of Questions and Answers: Payment Systems uses multiple-choice and short-answer questions to test students? knowledge of the dominant bodies of law applicable to the common forms of payment, such as checks, notes, credit cards, debit cards, wire transfers, and letters of credit, including Articles 3, 4, 4A, and 5 of the Uniform Commercial Code, selected provisions of the Consumer Credit Protection Act (Truth in Lending Act), and a few federal regulations. The Second Edition explores many of the same, as well as numerous new, payment systems issues through either previous questions that have been revised, or many new questions. As with the First Edition, the hallmark of the learning process in the Second Edition comes through the exhaustive and detailed answers, which seek to explain not only why a particular response is correct, but why other responses are incorrect. The Second Edition covers the following topics: Negotiable Instruments: Definitions, Basic Principles Negotiable Instruments: Persons entitled to enforce; Defenses to payment; Holder in Due Course Doctrine Negotiable Instruments: Forms of Liability on notes, ordinary checks, and bank checks Negotiable Instruments: Forgery; Conversion; Alteration; Imposters The Check Collection System Fund Transfers (Consumer) Fund Transfers (Wholesale) Credit Cards Letters of Credit
Questions & Answers: Professional Responsibility (eBook - 5th ed.) by 
Questions & Answers: Property (eBook - 3rd ed.) by
There is no better way to improve your understanding of property law doctrines, concepts, and theories and to evaluate your progress in a course than to engage with rigorous practice exam questions. This updated study guide provides more than 200 multiple-choice, true/false, and short answer questions arranged topically and designed to test your comprehension as you learn. And, there is practice exam with more than 50 questions that covers most of the subjects taught across a semester in the typical property law course. The correct answers to all the book's practice questions are available to compare against your own responses.
Questions & Answers: Remedies (eBook - 2nd ed.) by
This updated study guide continues to provide comprehensive coverage of topics regularly covered in remedies courses. The second edition includes revised and expanded coverage of injunctions, equitable defenses, and compensatory damages. It also includes a new section exploring the right to a jury trial. The second edition continues to use multiple-choice and short-answer questions to test your students' knowledge of remedies law doctrine. It now also includes sample essay questions as well. Each multiple-choice question is accompanied by a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question (designed to be answered in no more than fifteen minutes) and each essay question is followed by a thoughtful, yet brief, model answer. Questions & Answers: Remedies also includes a comprehensive topical index.
Questions & Answers: Secured Transactions (eBook - 4th ed.) by
The fourth edition of the Q&A: Secured Transactions study guide offers more than 300 multiple-choice and short-answer questions to test your knowledge of material covered in most Secured Transactions (UCC Article 9) courses. Each multiple-choice question is accompanied by a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question (designed to be answered in no more than fifteen minutes) is followed by a thoughtful, yet brief, model answer. The questions are arranged by topic, and the study guide includes a "final exam" of over 40 questions. The comprehensive topical index makes it easy for users to test themselves on the various topics, regardless of the casebook being used or the order in which the professor is covering the material.
Questions & Answers: Taxation of Business Entities (eBook - 1st ed.) by 
Questions & Answers: the First Amendment (eBook - 4th ed.) by
Understand better what you're learning in First Amendment or Constitutional Law class and prepare effectively for exams by applying concepts as you learn them. This study guide includes over 150 multiple-choice and short-answer questions arranged topically for ease of use during the semester, plus an additional set of questions comprising a comprehensive "practice exam." The fourth edition has been updated with recent freedom of expression and religion cases. For each multiple-choice question, Professors Weaver and Araiza provide a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains thoroughly why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question is designed to be answered in fifteen minutes or less. For these questions, Professors Weaver and Araiza provide a thoughtful, comprehensive, yet brief model answer.
Questions & Answers: Torts (eBook - 5th ed.) by
Questions & Answers: Torts offers a thorough review of torts that fits with all versions of a typical torts course. It provides an effective review of doctrinal material at relatively low cost in both time and money. The thorough index and table of contents enable users to easily locate any topic in the torts syllabus. An extended practice exam chapter, which does not announce which topics are covered, gives users the option of "hiding the ball" when testing themselves. The principal technology of this book is the multiple choice question. Each one gives four alternative answers--and with no evasions like "all of the above" or "B and C only"--along with explanations that have been road-tested with torts students for utility and clarity. In recognition of bar exam and academic support considerations, the fifth edition has increased the percentage of questions that are multiple choice, while retaining short answers that give users a chance to put doctrine into their own words. Some questions are relatively easy, and a few are relatively hard. Many questions are written as anecdotes with human characters to simulate the case method of instruction, while others ask about abstract points. Although core doctrine fills most of this book, it also includes jurisprudential material like economic analysis and policy questions. The index labels these jurisprudential questions as "theory/policy" for ease of identification.
Questions & Answers: Trademark and Unfair Competition (eBook - 1st ed.) by
This study guide uses multiple-choice and short-answer questions to test your students' knowledge of trademark and unfair competition law doctrine. Each multiple-choice question is accompanied by a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question (designed to be answered in no more than fifteen minutes) is followed by a thoughtful, yet brief, model answer. Q & A: Trademark and Unfair Competition also includes a comprehensive topical index.
Questions & Answers: Wills, Trusts, and Estates (eBook - 4th ed.) by
Questions & Answers: Wills, Trusts, and Estates is a study guide designed to provide students with a fuller understanding of this nuanced and complex area of the law. Passively engaging with rules does not advance the forward edge of a student's comprehension, but reviewing practice questions is a proven way to improve performance on exams. This study guide includes multiple-choice and short-answer questions arranged topically for ease of use during the semester, plus an additional set of questions comprising a comprehensive "practice exam." For each multiple-choice question, the authors provide a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains thoroughly why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question is designed to be answered in fifteen minutes or less. A thoughtful and comprehensive model answer is provided. This edition of the book builds on the foundation established in the first three editions by revising and updating the topics covered to include new developments in law. Questions have been updated to use more inclusive language.
Acing Business Associations (3rd ed.) by 
Acing Civil Procedure (6th ed.) by 
Acing Constitutional Law (2nd ed.) by 
Acing Contracts (2nd ed.) by 
Acing Criminal Law (5th ed.) by 
Acing Criminal Procedure (6th ed.) by 
Acing Evidence (3rd ed.) by 
Acing Federal Income Tax (2nd ed.) by 
Acing Negotiable Instruments by 
Acing Professional Responsibility (5th ed.) by 
Acing Property (3rd ed.) by 
Acing the Bar Exam (2nd ed.) by
Acing the Bar Exam provides candidates with a complete guide to the bar exam -- from pre-planning considerations through bar review and sitting for the exam. It features comprehensive coverage of the Uniform Bar Exam, including an explanation of each component and how to prepare for it. Every aspect of the process is explained in detail and by example. The bar exam is de-constructed, section by section, where candidates are led through the steps they need to follow to succeed. Approaches for learning the black letter law, setting study schedules, and answering essay and multiple-choice questions are combined to maximize the likelihood of success. Each of these tasks is then configured into checklist format to help candidates navigate each step. This approach puts the candidate in control of the bar exam and not the other way around.
Acing Tort Law (4th ed.) by 
Accounting and Finance for Lawyers in a Nutshell (6th ed.) by 
Administrative Law and Process in a Nutshell (6th ed.) / by 
Administrative Law of Health Care in a Nutshell by
This Nutshell addresses the administrative law governing the financing and delivery of health care. Administrative law governs the administrative operations of government agencies. It sets the powers that administrative agencies may exercise, establishes the legal principles governing the exercise of those powers, and provides legal remedies to those aggrieved by the actions of agencies. State and federal agencies are deeply involved in the financing and delivery of health care. They address public health, licensure of professionals and facilities and financing health care services through public health insurance programs. The reach of administrative law governing state and federal healthcare agencies is immense and immensely important to the financing and delivery of American health care.
Adoption laws in a Nutshell by 
Agricultural Law in a Nutshell by 
Alternative Dispute Resolution in a Nutshell by
Contents: Introduction -- Negotiation -- Mediation -- Arbitration -- Dispute resolution in the court -- Hybrid dispute resolution procedures.
American Indian Law in a Nutshell (7th ed.) by 
American Law and the American Legal System in a Nutshell by
This book, suitable as a primer for foreign LLMs -- or as an introductory survey for American students of both procedural and substantive law -- is a comprehensive, though concise, survey of the American legal system -- its structure and its methodology.
Animal Law in a Nutshell by
Topics include animal anti-cruelty laws, industrial and agricultural uses of animals, torts and other claims for harm done to animals, as well as federal, state and local regulation of animal ownership and use, animal rights activism, hunting, fishing and other recreational uses of animals, animals in entertainment, issues arising when animals are the subject of a contract or the intended beneficiary of a will or trust, remedies for harm done to animals, international animal law, and anticipated future legal developments in the field.
Bar Exam in a Nutshell by 
Constitutional Analysis in a Nutshell by
This authoritative text provides a framework for understanding individual liberty and governmental power and the institutional role played by the Supreme Court of the United States. Coverage in this new improved edition includes all the major topics of the subject: judicial review: commerce clause and state powers: federalism: separation of powers: congressional and executive powers: and individual civil rights and civil liberties. Includes diagrams that aid understanding of the fundamentals of our system of government. Extremely accessible and comprehensive -- this is a paperback course in American Constitutional Law.
Construction Law in a Nutshell (2nd ed.) by
This book provides a comprehensive survey of the major legal issues that arise in the course of a construction project. The structure of the book first focuses on the major participants on a project and the relationships and interests of each of participant. It then shifts to chapters on recurring themes in construction law such as the economic loss rule, calculation of damages, and defective construction. While making the concepts accessible for any reader, the book provides a logical structure for those teaching construction law to use as either the primary or supplemental reading for the course. The second edition, in addition to adding new substantive material and case examples, is also updated to reference the 2017 revisions to the AIA construction documents.
Consumer Protection Law in a Nutshell (4th ed.) by
This reliable source explores traditional and emerging areas in consumer protection law. Federal and state law dealing with consumer transactions is covered, including caselaw and statutes. The volume begins with an overview of public (both FTC and CFPB) and private enforcement actions to regulate the marketplace. The remaining chapters track the legal aspects of consumer transactions in a roughly chronological fashion, starting with advertising and marketing, consumer privacy, credit reports and identity theft, and equal access to credit. The discussion continues with coverage of mandated disclosures as well as substantive protections for consumers under the federal credit laws, especially the Truth in Lending Act (TILA), including installment sales, credit cards and real estate related financing. Special issues relating to TILA enforcement, as well as a discussion of related federal statutes, and regulation of the cost of credit are also covered. Post-transaction issues such as raising claims and defenses against third party financers (Holder in Due Course), warranties, default and debt collection, are included. Last but not least, there is a chapter on the law affecting various forms of payment for consumer transactions, including credit and debit cards.
Corporate Finance in a Nutshell by
This up-to-date and comprehensive title covers the entire field of corporate finance, including the recent changes stemming from the Dodd-Frank Act. In addition to discussing accounting and valuation concepts, it provides extensive coverage of the legal and financial underpinnings of debt securities, preferred and common stock, and derivative instruments (options, forward contracts, futures contracts and swap contracts). It also provides sample valuation problems, answers, and explanations. Written in "plain-English," you will find the work particularly useful, with or without any business background.
Criminal Law in a Nutshell (6th ed.) by
This guide helps you gain an overview of and develop perspective on the area of criminal law. It is organized into eight sections for quick reference. Expert discussion explores punishment, specific crimes, and the ingredients of a crime such as mens rea and actus reus. Other topics covered include special defenses, the burden of proof, and inchoate and group criminality. It also reflects on the limitations of criminal law.
Criminal Procedure, Constitutional Limitations in a Nutshell (9th ed.) by
This nutshell is intended for use by law students of constitutional criminal procedure. It is a succinct analysis of the constitutional standards of major current significance. This is not a text on criminal procedure, but rather about constitutional criminal procedure. It avoids describing the non-constitutional standards applied in each state and federally. The text provides the scope and highlights you need to excel in understanding this field. This will enable you to answer exam questions more quickly and accurately, and enhance your skills as an attorney.
Cross Examination in a Nutshell by
Cross Examination in a Nutshell is a new approach to an age-old skill. Focusing on incorporating storytelling and persuasion, it presents techniques for preparing, structuring, and delivering effective cross examinations in every setting. Cross Examination in a Nutshell departs from the old ways, and presents a new thought process for making cross examination as much a part of telling your story as is opening and closing arguments. The techniques for controlling the narrative, the witness, and your opponent are perfect for every advocate, from the law student to the most seasoned practitioner.
Election Law in a Nutshell by
Election law is a dynamic and rapidly expanding field that generates enormous public interest. It is also of great practical importance to lawyers and law students, with increasing litigation and many controversial Supreme Court decisions such as Bush v. Gore, Citizens United v. FEC, and Shelby County v. Holder.
Electronic Discovery and Digital Evidence in a Nutshell (2nd ed.) by
A concise treatment of all issues relating to electronically stored information (ESI) in litigation today, and a must-own for both civil and criminal practitioners. The authors have substantially rewritten each chapter and added chapters on anticipated changes to the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure governing ESI (which take effect December, 2015), technology-assisted review of ESI, and the use of ESI in criminal cases. Includes extensive treatment of preservation, search for and production of ESI, privilege protection, sanctions, ethical obligations of attorneys with respect to technology, and how the federal rules can be and have been adopted to accommodate digital evidence. Written by the author of the landmark Zubulake opinions and the Sedona Conference, which is at the forefront of thinking and writing on electronic discovery.
Entertainment Law in a Nutshell (4th ed.) by
This compact reference gives a big picture overview of the intellectual property, contract, publicity, estate planning, and First Amendment issues that contribute to the field of entertainment law. Professor Burr also addresses specific legal issues that arise in the film, music, and television industries, including discussion of the rise of "reality" television. This Nutshell is ideal as a secondary text to accompany any entertainment law casebook, as the primary text for a seminar, or as background information for someone requiring an overview. Winner! Best Business Book - 2017 New Mexico/Arizona Book Awards
Estates, Future Interests and Powers of Appointment in a Nutshell by
This comprehensive guide provides an overview of the rules and principles of estates and future interests, including concurrent estates, marital estates (including the modern elective share), and powers of appointment. It includes new innovations from the Restatement 3d of Property, modernizing the law of future interests and dramatically changing the Rule Against Perpetuities. With respect to powers of appointment, the book incorporates the clarifications and modernizations of the law in the Restatement 3d of Property and the Uniform Powers of Appointment Act (2013, with subsequent amendments). The book also has exercises, with answers at the back. Valuable for students in first-year Property and upper-year courses in Trusts and Estates.
European Union law including Brexit in a nutshell by
This Nutshell covers the history of the European Union, including BREXIT, its legislative procedures, litigating EU law and the jurisprudence of the European Court of Justice. Free movement of goods, services, people (including mass migration), capital and technology, the EURO in crisis, and extensive internal Union policies are detailed. This Nutshell also reviews EU international trade, foreign investment and business competition (antitrust) law.
Evidence in a Nutshell (6th ed.) by
The newest (restyled) version of the Federal Rules of Evidence, reproduced in the appendix, are the anchor of this single-volume Nutshell, with some state variations noted where important. The text summarizes significant U.S. Supreme Court decisions, including the latest Confrontation Clause cases; additional leading cases; forefront expert and scientific evidence developments; and principal schools of evidentiary thought. It includes practical implementation as well as scholarly approaches, and pays attention to the litigation process as a whole and interdisciplinary cross-pollination where helpful.
Federal Rules of Evidence in a Nutshell by 
Fintech law in a nutshell by 
First Amendment Law in a Nutshell by 
First Trial (Where Do I Sit? What Do I Say?) in a Nutshell by
Contents: The stage : where do I sit? -- The script : what do I say? -- Prepare the play in a trial notebook -- Prepare the players in the woodshed -- Gather the props -- Check out the audience -- Thinning the audience : voir dire -- Curtain up : the opening statement -- Dialogue : examination of witnesses -- The lawyer's part : evidence advocacy -- Last scene : the closing argument.
Historic Preservation Law in a Nutshell by 
Intellectual Property and Unfair Competition in a Nutshell by
Contents: Introduction to the law of intellectual property and unfair competition -- Interference with precontractual and non-contractual relations -- Interference with contractual relations -- Use of similar trademarks and trade names -- Product substitution or alteration -- Appropriation of publicly disclosed intangible assets -- Appropriation of trade secrets and ideas -- Injurious promotional practices -- Injurious pricing practices.
International Legal Research in a Nutshell by
Contents: Introduction and basic concepts -- Some basics as you begin -- Foreign and comparative law -- Treaties and international agreements -- Customary international law and general principles of law -- International case law -- European Union -- United Nations -- Other international organizations -- Commentary and analysis -- General research strategies -- Source collecting and cite checking -- Staying ahead of the curve -- Appendix. Comprehensive list of sources -- Websites containing national law -- Web treaty collections -- Planning your research and organizational tools.
International Trade Law Including Trump and Trade in a Nutshell by 
Introduction to Estate Planning in a Nutshell by
This Nutshell presents an introduction to basic concepts and techniques of estate planning. Subjects covered include transfers of property at death by will or intestacy; inter vivos gifts; survivor interests; revocable and irrevocable trusts; community property; life insurance; retirement, disability and death benefits; charitable trusts; future interests; fiduciary administration; and federal estate and gift taxes.
Labor and Employment Arbitration in a Nutshell by
Labor and employment arbitration law simplified. Authoritative coverage provides a description of the origin, development, and practice of labor and employment arbitration. Text focuses on the fundamentals of the labor and employment arbitration process and explores the major arbitration law issues, their importance, and the conflicting opinions on them.
Land Use in a Nutshell by
Contents: Introduction and common law origins -- Land use plans and the planning process -- Zoning districts and the separation of land uses -- Subdivision controls and development by agreement -- Fifth amendment limits on land use regulations -- Other constitutional and statutory limits on land use regulation -- Smart growth and other flexible land use strategies -- Housing and urban redevelopment -- Local environmental law as a land use issue -- Aesthetic, historic, and cultural interest protection -- Initiatives, referenda, mediation, and judicial review -- Critical contemporary land use issues -- Appendix. An Internet guide to land use research.
Law and Policy of Sentencing and Corrections in a Nutshell by
Contents:
Introduction to sentencing -- Guilty pleas and plea bargaining -- The sentencing process -- Sentencing statutes and guidelines -- Community-based sanctions -- The death penalty -- Cruel and unusual punishment and noncapital cases -- Parole release and probation and parole revocation -- Enmeshed penalties ("collateral consequences") -- Prisoners' rights: an introduction -- First amendment rights -- Right of access to the courts -- Prison disciplinary proceedings -- Transfers, classification, and procedural due process -- The privilege against self-incrimination, discrimination, and prison programs -- Searches, seizures, and privacy rights -- Due-process claims for personal injuries and property deprivations -- Cruel and unusual punishment -- The mechanics of litigating inmates' Section 1983 suits -- Remedies.
Legal Drafting in a Nutshell by
Contracts: A philosophy of drafting -- Contract drafting -- Legislative drafting -- The rules of interpretation -- Drafting ethics -- Legal drafting overview -- Getting started -- Drafting within the law -- Determining substance -- Choosing the right concept -- Organization -- Avoiding ambiguities -- Drafting style and usage -- Definitions -- Terms creating legal consequences -- Document typography and layout -- Reviewing and revising.
Legal Negotiation in a Nutshell by
Follows the entire process from opening negotiations to settlement. Text first introduces negotiation in law practice and representing a client in legal negotiation. Covers the basic types of legal negotiations, case evaluation, and preparation. Also addresses the types of legal disputes that should not be negotiated. Examines negotiating styles, strategies, and tactics as well as the stages of legal negotiation.
Legal Research in a Nutshell by
Contents: The research process -- Background and analysis -- Case law -- Statutes and constitutions -- Legislative information -- Administrative law -- Court rules and practice -- Specialized and nonlegal resources -- International law -- The law of other countries -- Appendix A : State legal research -- Appendix B : Major treatises and services by subject.
Legal Writing and Analysis in a Nutshell by 
Legal Writing Citation in a Nutshell by
Contents: The basics of legal citation -- Citing cases in Bluebook or ALWD form -- Citing legislative, administrative, and related sources in Bluebook or ALWD form -- Citing secondary and Internet sources in Bluebook or ALWD form -- Appendix 1. Case name abbreviations -- Appendix 2. Geographic designations -- Appendix 3. Months/Calendar designations -- Appendix 4. Document subdivisions -- Appendix 5. Publishing terms -- Appendix 6. Abbreviations of state, federal, and U.S. territorial court reports -- Appendix 7. Nominative reports -- Appendix 8. Status of official state court reporters, public domain citations, and availability of parallel West citations -- Appendix 9. Parenthetical court abbreviations, court websites, and preferred reporters -- Appendix 10. Federal and state statutory compilations, session laws, and legislative websites -- Appendix 11. Periodical abbreviations -- Appendix 12. Abbreviations for looseleaf services and reporters -- Appendix 13. Abbreviations of titles of judges and other officials -- Appendix 14. Abbreviations of legislative documents and terms -- Appendix 15. Abbreviations of court (litigation) documents.
Mediation in a Nutshell by
Contents: Mediation distinguished from other dispute resolution processes -- The mediation process -- Mediation as facilitation of negotiation -- Getting to the mediation -- The obligation to mediate -- Issues surrounding mediator neutrality and impartiality -- Confidentiality in mediation -- Issues surrounding the mediation agreement -- Ethical considerations -- Regulation of mediators: development of the profession -- Specialized applications of mediation -- Derivative, combination and hybrid processes.
Tax Procedure and Tax Fraud in a Nutshell by 
Torts in a Nutshell by 
Trademark and Unfair Competition in a Nutshell by
This text provides a comprehensive treatment of the law of trademark, unfair competition, false advertising, and the right of publicity.
Trial Advocacy in a Nutshell by
Contents: An approach to trial advocacy -- Persuasive legal narratives -- Inferential arguments -- Credibility arguments -- Silent arguments -- Alternative dispute resolution -- Courtroom presentation overview -- Opening statements -- Direct examination -- Cross examination -- Expert witnesses -- Closing argument -- Evidence rules and processes -- Satisfying foundational requirements for tangible evidence.
Uniform Commercial Code in a Nutshell (8th ed.) by
This product provides a concise yet comprehensive introduction to the Uniform Commercial Code for students and practitioners alike. It covers each major topic of the Code, including the process of selling, payment, negotiation, shipping, storage, financing sales, and leasing of goods. In addition, the text makes it possible for readers to see how the various articles of the Code may interact in a single transaction. Wherever practicable, the actual language of the Code and its comments has been used. The comprehensive outline, references to relevant authority, and intuitive system of cross-referencing all contribute to its ease of use. This eighth edition contains the 2010 Amendments to Article 9, with an effective date of July 1, 2013.
White Collar Crime in a Nutshell (5th ed.) by 
Wills and Trusts in a Nutshell, 6th by
The sixth edition of this book updates laws affecting intestate succession, wills, guardianships, and trusts. It introduces wills and trust terminology to the lay audience and summarizes the law included in the Uniform Probate Code, Uniform Trust Code, Uniform Principal and Income Act, Uniform Guardianship and Protective Proceedings Act, Uniform Prudent Investor Act, and the Restatement of Trusts. To illustrate legal issues this book utilizes problems arising from celebrity peccadilloes and well-known deaths, such as those of Abraham Lincoln, Elvis Presley, Michael Jackson, Prince, and the mother/daughter team of Debbie Reynolds and Carrie Fisher. The book can be adopted to supplement a traditional wills and trusts class or as the sole text for a seminar. With clarified language, the book is also accessible to the general public interested in learning more about this complex topic.
_0.jpg)
