Skip to main content

Study Aids: Introduction

Introduction

The following Guide presents an overview of various study aids that are available to Duquesne University Law students as part of the Center for Legal Information's collection.

 

Overview from the American Bar Association for Law Students 

How to Use Study Aids in Law School

 

Print Study Guides

The Duquesne Center for Legal Information's print study guide collection includes resources from the Examples and Explanations, Principles, Nustshell, Mastering, Understanding, and Questions and Answers series, among others.

 

Quimbee

The Duquesne University Center for Legal Information has an institutional subscription to Quimbee. Quimbee is a popular study aid service that provides short instructional videos, case briefs, flashcards, practice exams, and more. 

Gold-level membership is available for free to all Duquesne Law students.  You must create an individual account using your "@duq.edu" email address. If you already have an account, please contact Quimbee support (email: support@quimbee.com or via chat widget) to have your account moved to the institutional subscription. Any faculty or staff member who is interested in establishing a Quimbee account should contact Julie Tedjeske (tedjeskej@duq.edu).  

 

OverDrive Ebooks

Through the OverDrive ebook platform, you can check out ebook versions of various study aids, including titles from the Mastering, Understanding, and Questions & Answers series. Using OverDrive, you can read, bookmark, annotate, cut-and-paste, and highlight borrowed materials. To checkout materials in OverDrive, you will need the 16 digit number that is on the front of your Duquesne University I.D. card.

The checkout period for OverDrive books is two weeks after which time the item will expire; however, you will be able to check it out again. If you have used the OverDrive Read software, your annotations and highlights will still be available under your “History & Notes” section in OverDrive. Users may check out a maximum of 10 items at any one time. A short video demonstrating how to use OverDrive titled "Reading the eBook" is available as the last video listed as the last video on this page.

 

CALI Lessons

CALI stands for Computer Assisted Legal Instruction. The CALI website includes a variety of interactive online tutorials covering most 1L classes and many upper-level topics. CALI has also recently expanded its podcast offerings, which include coverage of contracts, payment systems, secured transactions, study advice, and other topics. Users must set up an individual CALI account.

 

LexisNexis Courtroom Cast Audio Files

Courtroom Cast from LexisNexis provides, among other features, access to the AudioCaseFiles service. The AudioCaseFiles service includes edited text and audio judicial opinions for commonly assigned cases. It also has a notes feature that allows you to take, share, and print notes. In addition, you can use the Courtroom Cast Evidence, Trial Advocacy, and Appellate Advocacy Training libraries, which provide online video highlights with commentary and analysis keyed to a breakdown by topic.

Duquesne Law students can create their own accounts with Courtroom Cast. Select Duquesne University Law School from the drop-down list and use your Duquesne e-mail address to sign up.

 

Related Research Guides