Guide to ACLL Services for the Public: Home

The Allegheny County Law Library (ACLL) is a public law library, serving the Allegheny County residents. The ACLL is not part of the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh or the eiNetwork.

Where to Find Us

The Allegheny County Law Library (ACLL) is located at:

414 Grant Street, 9th Floor
Pittsburgh, PA 15219

Use our Resources

• Search ACLL catalog
• Email us at acll@carnegielibrary.org
• Call us at 412-350-5353
• Video instructions on how to access our resources

Databases available on-site:

• Westlaw 
  Patron Access Core Plan plus Analytical Plus, Litigation, Practical Law and the NRS images
  The most advanced online legal research system. Authoritative content for both primary law and exclusive secondary law titles.  And we have just added new resources designed to help you practice Pennsylvania law more efficiently and effectively. 
• Lexis Advance
  Lexis Support & Training 
  The online legal research solution helping you change the world… one case at a time. 

• HeinOnline
• How to Get Started in HeinOnline
  Law reviews, session laws, current and historical statutes, treaties, and more. All content is fully-searchable, image-based and available for download in PDF.  
• Gale Legal Forms
  Gale training videos and for small business
  Gale Legal Forms provides access to state-specific and more generally applicable legal forms in areas such as family law, bankruptcy, and landlord tenant law.
• LegalTrac
  LegalTrac Support
  LegalTrac offers indexing for 1500 titles and full-text for 250 titles. Coverage includes major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty law publications, bar association journals and thousands of law-related articles from general interest publications.
• Making of Modern Law
  Making of Modern Law is a comprehensive full-text collection of over 21,000 legal works published during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
• LLMC
  LLMC training video
  LLMC Digital is provided by a non-profit cooperative of libraries dedicated to preserving legal titles and making copies of such inexpensively available digitally through its on-line service. This full-text collection provides access to state, federal, and international resources, including extensive holdings of federal administrative agency decisions.
• eCode 360
  eCode 360 training information
  Note: This is a website that is freely available on the Internet.

Because the ACLL has limited computers available, you need to make an appointment to use the computers in the library.

The Allegheny County Law Library (ACLL) also offers these services for a small fee. Our librarians are here to help you decide what you need.

Legal Forms

The ACLL provides copies of commonly used forms for $0.20 per page.

Forms available include:

• Civil Complaint short form
• Civil Complaint long form

Printing and Scanning 

The ACLL has a photocopier and scanner available. Fee listing.

Document Delivery

The ACLL will email, fax or physically mail documents to you. Fee listing.

Remote Access to Databases

Library cardholders can get remote access to the following databases:

• FastCase
• HeinOnline 
• Gale Legal Forms 
• Making of Modern Law
• LegalTrac 

Borrowing Materials

You are free to consult library materials in the library. If you wish to borrow library materials, you must purchase a library card.*

*Cardholders may borrow material from the ACLL or from Duquesne Center for Legal Information. They cannot borrow material from Gumberg Library.

Purchase a Library Card

Thus frequent users may consider purchasing a library card. A library card provides additional benefits

• Borrowing privileges
• Remote access to select databases
• and more!

Library cards can be purchased for $105 for Allegheny county residents or $155 from patrons from out of county. Library cards are valid for one calendar year (from January to January).