Pennsylvania Estate Law

Secondary Legal Sources may restate the law, but they also discuss, analyze, describe, explain, or critique it as well.  These include reference works such as dictionaries and encyclopedias, books, treatises, theses and dissertations, journal articles, loose-leaf publications, indexes and abstracts.

Treatises, not to be confused with treaties, are book-length expositions on the law as it pertains to a particular subject. Treatises may be scholarly in nature, such as Murray on Contracts, or they may be geared toward a legal practitioner, such as a manual or handbook.

1.  Encyclopedias

 Pennsylvania Law Encyclopedia, 2d     Stack 23  KFP65.P42

• Estates vol. 23
• Trusts vol. 51
• Wills vols. 52 - 53

   Nolo Legal Encyclopedia

 https://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/wills-trusts-estates 

            Standard Pennsylvania Practice 2d. 

• KFP530.S7  Stack 38
• Probate of Wills Vol. 31 
• Trust Distributions vol. 34
• Trusts and Trustees vol. 35

            Summary of Pennsylvania Jurisprudence 2d. 

• KFP65.L42  Stack 22
• Property (Estates) Vol.6-8A
• Probate Vol. 9-11A

2.  Citators

Shepard’s Pennsylvania Citations  Books on Stack 22 or on Lexis 

KeyCite (Westlaw)

3.  Catalog Subjects

•     Wills - Pennsylvania 
•     Trusts and Trustees   - Pennsylvania
•       Probate Law and Practice - Pennsylvania
•      Also, browse the Main Reading Room Stack 29  KFP 139 - 144

 4.  Forms

Orphan's Court Forms, Filing Fees & FAQs

https://www.alleghenycounty.us/court-records/wills/probate-forms.aspx

https://www.pacourts.us/forms/for-the-public/orphans-court-forms

Dunlap-Hanna Pennsylvania Forms  Stack 24  KFP68.M4

• Vol. 7
  • Chapter 65 Wills
  • Chapter 67 Charitable Trusts
  • Chapter 70 Trusts  
• Vol. 8
  • Chapter 75 Administration of Trusts
  • Chapter 78 Trust Estates

West's Pennsylvania Practice  Stack 25 

• Volumes 19 - 19A, Probate & Estate Administration

5.  Introductory Sources

Eight Ways to Avoid Probate.  Stack 3, Self-Help Collection KF 750 .Z9 R36 2018

Estate Planning Basics, Stack 3, Self-Help Collection, KF 750 Z9 C585

Estate Planning for Blended Families.  Stack 3, Self-Help Collection, KF 750 .Z9 B36 2009

The Executor's Guide.  Stack 3, Self-Help Collection KF 778 .Z9 R36 2018

Introduction to Estate Planning in a Nutshell.  Stack 3 Self-Help Collection, KF 750 .L9 2019

Make Your Own Living Trust.  Stack 3 Self-Help Collection KF 734 .C58 2017

Quick and Legal Will Book.  Stack 3, Self-Help Collection,  KF 755 .C55 2017

Plan Your Estate.  Stack 3, Self-Help Collection, KF 750 .C59 2018

Wills and Trusts in a Nutshell.  Stack 3 Self-Help Collection KF 755 .M46 2017

6.  Treatises (2012 or newer)

Bisel's Pennsylvania Orphans' Court Lawsource 20th ed.  Stack  KFP 144 .B57 2022

Law of Wills in Pennsylvania:  Drafting, Interpreting, Contesting Forms.  Stack 40  KFP 144 .A54 

Uniform Probate Code and Uniform Trust Code in a Nutshell.   Self-Help Collection  Stack 3   KF 765 .A98 2010