Skip to Main Content

Borrowing Materials

Information about borrowing collection items from the Duquesne Kline Law Library

Borrowing Materials

ATTENTION: Duquesne Kline Law Library Electronic Resource Updates this Summer AND Potential Disruptions During Upgrades

The Duquesne Kline Law Library has upgraded  several new systems during the summer months. The upgrades include a new online library catalog and a new database authentication platform. While we hope to have a seamless transition, there may be periods when the library catalog is not fully functional and some databases may not be remotely accessible. If you have research deadlines, please do not wait until the last minute. Please reach out to lawlibrary@duq.edu so that we may assistant you if you run in to any problems.

 

Introducing "FOLIO" Library Services Platform (LSP) for the new "LOCATE" Catalog & User Interface, at the Duquesne Kline Law Library

FOLIO is an entirely new LSP, the first to be launched in over 10 years. FOLIO provides a community collaboration of libraries, vendors and developers, coming together to build an open-source library services platform. Both the Duquesne Kline Law Library and Gumberg Library, are now utilizing FOLIO as the University LSP. Most importantly, the University is now utilizing FOLIO's catalog and user access interfaces, available here: LOCATE . "LOCATE" replaces the old "SOLCAT" catalog & user interface. The LOCATE link is now available on the law library's homepage.

Here's a link to a User Guide for LOCATE

The User Guide provides all the information you need to know, to fully utilize this resource, available to you, as Duquesne University, and Kline School of Law student, faculty, or staff. LOCATE allows you to not only search the combined University and Law Library catalog, but also allows you to access your library account, and perform self-serve functions like renewals, through the "My Bookshelf" feature. You'll find the following table of contents on the User Guide for LOCATE:

Table of Contents

Please contact lawlibrary@duq.edu with any questions about LOCATE.

Borrowing from Other Libraries

The Duquesne Kline Law Library provides a free interlibrary loan service for Thomas R. Kline School of Law of Duquesne University faculty and law students.

For the fastest service, please try (via Gumberg Library):

  • EZ-Borrow to borrow books or
  • ILLiad to borrow books, book chapters, or journal articles.

If you still are unable to find the desired materials or do not wish to use the services above, please contact Amy Lovell for more information.

Borrowing from Duquesne Kline Law Library

User Identification

Members of the Duquesne University community must present valid University identification cards to borrow material(s).

What Circulates at the Duquesne Kline Law Library?

In general, everything in the law library circulates except for the following locations/material types. Please ask at the Circulation Desk if you have questions.

Non-Circulating Location/Types of Materials

Archives
Citators
Core Collection Titles (see below)
Digests
Form Book Sets
Index/Tables
Loose-Leaf Services
  Maps
  Rare Books
  Reference Books
  Statutes/Codes
  Uniform Laws (official versions)

Checking Out Books

Please bring the desired materials to the Circulation Desk for check out. Proper identification is required. The Circulation Desk is located at the entrance to the law library on the second floor.

  • Law students may check out a total of fifteen (15) Duquesne Kline Law Library items at a time

Overdue Notices

  • Fines are 50¢ per item/per day for overdue materials.
  • Fines for overdue reserve materials are 50¢ per item/per hour.

You will get an overdue notice the day after an item becomes overdue. You will get a second overdue notice seven days from the day the first overdue notice was sent. If materials are returned, all fines and fees will be waived.

If an item is overdue for more than 21 days, you will get a replacement bill. Please notify the Circulation Desk immediately if you have lost materials. The replacement bill will include the following costs:

  • $100 for default item cost (this amount may vary depending on the actual cost to replace the title);
  • $25 processing charge (to cover the law library's expenses in actually replacing a title); and
  • $12 replacement bill service charge (to cover the law library's expenses in notifying you of the overdue).

If a title is returned after a replacement bill has been generated, the fine charged will be whichever fee is larger, the accumulated fines or the replacement bill service charge.

For further information on charges and loan rules, contact the Circulation Desk at 412.396.5017.

Core Collection Titles (Non-Circulating)

Please note: titles in this list may change without notice.

American Jurisprudence
American Jurisprudence 2d
American Jurisprudence Trials    
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
Congressional Record
Corpus Juris Secundum
Federal Register
Legislative Journal House
Legislative Journal Senate
Pennsylvania Bulletin
Pennsylvania Manual
Pennsylvania Reporter
Pennsylvania State and County Court Rules                                                                                                                                              Summary of Pennsylvania Jurisprudence                                                                                                                                                          Summary of Pennsylvania Jurisprudence 2nd                                                                                                                                                United States Code Congressional and Administrative News