Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

News and Current Awareness Resources

Introduction

The following Guide presents an overview of various news resources. It includes links to library resources as well as free Internet sites. Scroll over the Topics categories on the left side of the screen to find a particular subject area. 

Overview of Resources

Overview of News Resources:

Name and Description Who May Use This Resource?  How Do You Access This Resource? 

New York Times

The online version of the New York Times via the Academic Pass program.

Restricted to Duquesne Law students, staff and faculty members.

  • Use this Multipass-protected link to create an individual account.
  • Set up your individual account using your "duq.edu" email address.
  • Once you have created your account, you can sign into the New York Times website on the top right-hand side using the login button. 
  • Your individual account will be good for one year, at which time you will need to renew. (The system will allow you to set up an email calendar reminder if you like.) To renew, use the link provided above, but click on "Log In Here" rather than “Create Account.” After that, you should get a verification email. Click on the link in that email, and your account should be renewed for 364 days.
  • You can sign up for free email newsletters. 

Wall Street Journal

Access to the WSJ.com and the associated apps and electronic newsletters.

Restricted to Duquesne Law students, staff, and faculty members.

  • Individual accounts can be set up using the following Multipass-protected link: WSJ.com/Duquesne.

Westlaw Today

Westlaw Today is a  legal news service from Westlaw. It provides legal news stories from various sources, including Reuters, The Hill, CQ Roll Call, Practical Law, and JD Supra. There are also news stories written specifically for Westlaw Today, along with more in-depth attorney analysis pieces.

 

 

Restricted to Duquesne Law faculty and students.

  • Log in to Westlaw. It is an option from the menu on the top left side of the screen. 
  • Users can subscribe to a variety of different subject-oriented daily email news feeds. You can also get email alerts on a particular company. In addition, you can also subscribe to breaking news email alerts and the Daily Docket. The Daily Docket provides information on recent opinions, decisions, arguments, and information about law firms and general legal news and analysis pieces.

Bloomberg Law Email Newsletters

Bloomberg Law provides access to a variety of email newsletter feeds.

Restricted to Duquesne Law faculty and students. 

Legal Intelligencer

The online version of the daily Philadelphia legal newspaper, including coverage of the Pittsburgh legal market. Offers columns on legal issues, case analysis, verdicts, legal notices, and job postings. The online version provides the current week's worth of issues and some archived columns from previous months. Older content may be found on Lexis+. 

Please note that our subscription only provides access to the Legal Intelligencer, with minimal access to articles from other publications that are part of the Law.com network and which are provided on the same website as the Legal Intelligencer.

Restricted to faculty, staff, and students of Duquesne Law. 

Contact the library to set up access.

Law360

Law360 is a news database that provides information by practice area or jurisdiction. 

Restricted to Duquesne Law faculty and students. Law School faculty should contact the library to set up a remote access account. 

  • Duquesne Law students must use this resource in the library. 
  • Law360 articles are also available to Duquesne Law faculty and students in Lexis+.
  • Faculty may be able to set up an individual account for remote access. Please contact the library for more information. 

U.S. Law Week

News, analysis, and primary source materials relating to important cases and other legal developments nationwide, in all areas of the law. Includes Supreme Court Today, which is continuously updated to include rulings, opinions, and summaries of arguments. 

Restricted to Duquesne Law faculty and students. 

  • Log in with your Bloomberg Law account. 
  • See the "Subscribe to Newsletters" link at the top right side of the screen for information on email newsletters, including U.S. Law Week.

 

We have law school-wide access to the online version of the New York Times via the Academic Pass program. Law school students, staff, and faculty members may use this service. A link to the New York Times' website and a link to sign up for an individual account can both be found on the DCLI website.  

To get access to the New York Times, use this Multipass-protected link. Set up an individual account using your "duq.edu" email address. Once you have created your account, you can sign into the New York Times website on the top right-hand side using the Log In button. 

Your individual account will be good for one year, at which time you will need to renew. (The system will allow you to set up an email calendar reminder if you like.) To renew, use the link provided above, but click on "Log In Here" rather than “Create Account.” After that, you should get a verification email. Click on the link in that email, and your account should be renewed for 364 days.

Tips: 

  • You can sign up for a variety of email newsletters.
  • Our access is similar to that provided to individual subscribers. However, please note that our access does not include e-reader editions, Premium Crosswords, or the New York Times Crossword apps. 

.

Duquesne Law faculty, staff, and students can create Wall Street Journal accounts. You can use this account to login to the Wall Street Journal when you are off campus or outside of the library's I.P. range. Users have access to the WSJ.com and the associated apps and electronic newsletters.

Access Information:‚Äč

Individual accounts can be set up using the following Multipass-protected link: WSJ.com/Duquesne.

The Legal Intelligencer is a daily Philadelphia legal newspaper that includes coverage of the Pittsburgh legal market. It offers columns on legal issues, case analysis, and verdicts. Many practicing attorneys read the Legal Intelligencer. A link to the Legal Intelligencer's website can be found on the DCLI website  under "News Resources." 

The online version of the Legal Intelligencer provides the current week's worth of issues along with some archived columns from previous months. Older content may be found on Lexis+.

To use our online access to the Legal Intelligencer, please log in (at the upper right side of the screen) using your Lexis credentials. If you are logged in as an individual user, you can go to "My Accounts" to set up access to a variety of email newsletters, Members of the law school community who do not have a Lexis account may contact the library to set up an account.

Tip:

Our subscription only provides access to the Legal Intelligencer, with very limited access to articles from other publications that are part of the Law.com network, many of which are provided on the same website as the Legal Intelligencer. You can access three free articles per month from the larger Law.com network before you hit a paywall. Please note, however, you can find much of this content by running a search in Lexis. Try searching in Lexis for the headline in quotes while limiting your search to  ”Legal News.”

Westlaw Today is a  legal news service from Westlaw. It provides legal news stories from a variety of sources, including Reuters, The Hill, CQ Roll Call, Practical Law, and JD Supra. There are also news stories that are written specifically for Westlaw Today, along with more in-depth attorney analysis pieces.

You can find Westlaw Today by clicking on the arrow next to the Westlaw Edge logo when you are logged in to Westlaw. The default view for Westlaw Today displays the top news stories for the day. That view can be changed to show the top stories for a certain practice area.

Users can subscribe to a variety of different subject-oriented daily email news feeds. You can also get email alerts on a particular company. In addition, you can also subscribe to breaking news email alerts and the Daily Docket. The Daily Docket provides information on recent opinions, decisions, and arguments as well as information about law firms and general legal news and analysis pieces

Practice Areas Covered by Westlaw Today

    
Appellate Energy Legal Innovation
Bankruptcy Environment Litigation
Capital Markets Executive Compensation & Employee Benefits Mergers & Acquisitions
Civil Rights Finance & Banking On the Move
Class Actions & Multi-District Litigation Health Law Products Liability
Corporate Counsel Health Law Public Policy
Corporate Governance Immigration Securities Enforcement & Litigation
COVID-19 Insurance Law Tax
Data Privacy Intellectual Property Voting Rights & Elections
Employment Legal Industry White Collar Crime

Instructions for Westlaw Today

 

A. Sign in to Westlaw Today.

 

Westlaw Today Login Screen Capture

 

 

B. Notice the following: (1) top stories of the day are provided in the default view; (2) you can change the feed to display stories relating to a particular practice area; and (3) you can sign up for practice-area specific email alerts.

 

Westlaw Today Screen Capture

C.  Please see the following:  (1)  You can sign up for one or more topical email alerts, and those alerts can be combined into a single email.  (2)  You can also set up an alert for information regarding a specific company.  (3) In addition, the Daily Docket and breaking news are also available. (4) Finally, you can unsubscribe to all or part of your selections. 

Westlaw Today Email Newsletter Screen Shot

 

Other News Databases:

Selected Free Resources: