Research Guides Home: Legal Research Resources for Non-Law Students: Free Resources

Free Legal Resources

Overviews:

General Legal Websites:

Justia
Justia is a legal website offering free access to case law, codes, regulations, legal articles, legal blogs, forms, and a variety of additional legal research resources. It includes sections devoted to specific practice areas. The emphasis is on American law; however, the site also includes a Latin American section.
FindLaw | Thomson Reuters
FindLaw is a legal website from Thomson Reuters. It includes several main navigation tabs, such as “Learn About the Law," “Find a Lawyer,” “Legal Forms,” and “Blogs." The legal forms section is presented in partnership with U.S. Legal Forms. Much of the information presented is geared toward a consumer, rather than practitioner or academic, audience.
more...less...
About Page | Site Map

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles, theses, books, and abstracts from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites. Also includes selected legal opinions, including U.S. state appellate and supreme court cases since 1950, U.S. federal district, appellate, tax and bankruptcy courts since 1923 and U.S. Supreme Court cases since 1791. Case law searches can be limited by court.
About | Search Tips | How to Link Google Scholar to Duquesne University via Gumberg Library

Legal Information Institute (LII)
The LII publishes electronic versions of various primary legal sources. It also provides resources such as WEX, a legal dictionary and encyclopedia, and the LII Supreme Court Bulletin.
more...less...
LII: Who We Are Page | LII Reference Desk

USA.gov
General online portal to federal government information.
more...less...
About the Website | Index
Congress.gov
Congress.gov is an online database of United States Congress legislative information. It is a comprehensive collection of legislative materials and resources concerning various laws and legislative actions taking place in the US Congress.
GovInfo
Govinfo provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

Pennsylvania General Assembly
Provides access to the text of bills, resolutions, and amendments as well as links to administrative resources such as the Pennsylvania Bulletin and the Pennsylvania Code.