Research Guides Home: Wills, Trusts, and Estates Law: Introduction

Introduction

This Guide provides an overview of print and electronic resources relating to wills, trusts, and estates. Please use the tabs on the left or bottom of the screen to navigate through the Guide. Access to some resources may be restricted to either the Duquesne Kline School of Law or Duquesne University community.

Introductory Resources

Practice Area Essentials: Trusts & Estates
"A collection of Practice Notes, Checklists, and State Q&As that provide a high-level overview of key topics in Trusts & Estates. This collection comprises a representative sample of resources that attorneys new to this area of law can use to get up to speed. For more in-depth coverage of Trusts & Estates topics see the Trusts & Estates homepage."--Via Westlaw (login required)

Course Support Pages

Wills, Trusts and Estates Course Study Collection
Via Practical Law; Westlaw login required. Provides practice notes on a variety of topics and a 50-State Charts Toolkit.

Search for Cases by Topic

Restricted to Duquesne Kline School of Law faculty and students.

Westlaw Topic 154: Estates in Property
Search for cases by Topic and Key Number
Westlaw Topic 409: Wills
Search for cases by Topic and Key Number
Westlaw Topic 390: Trusts
Search for cases by Topic and Key Number
Lexis+ Topic: Estate, Gift, and Trust Law

Legal Database Subject Pages

Restricted to Duquesne Kline School of Law faculty and students.

Lexis+ Practical Guidance: Trusts and Estates
Includes practice notes, templates, clauses, and checklists. Covers the following topics: estate planning fundamentals, wills, trusts, disability planning, probate and estate administration, tax considerations, and more.
Lexis+: Estate, Gift & Trust Law Resource Page
Includes primary law materials, treatises, law reviews, forms, jury instructions, dockets, news, and more.

Scholarly Articles and Working Papers

Social Science Research Network Wills, Trusts, & Estates E-Journal
Social Science Research Network provides access to working papers and pre-publication versions of journal articles.
more...less...
Users may set up SSRN accounts and subscribe to free e-journals in the SSRN Legal Scholarship Network. To automatically receive email alerts for ejournals, go to the Legal Scholarship Network subscriptions page (you will be prompted to log in to SSRN). Look under "Law" on the left side of the screen (Subject Matter eJournals are listed at the end). If Duquesne Kline faculty members are unable to select orange subject eJournals, please contact lawlibrary@duq.edu for account assistance.
Digital Commons: Estates and Trusts
The Digital Commons provides full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide, including peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.

Organizations

Last Updated: August 31, 2023