Skip to Main Content

Job Search and Career Resources

General Interest

50 Unique Legal Paths by Ursula Furi-Perry
Call Number: Law Library Treatise Collection KF297 .F87 2008
Turning points : new paths & second careers for lawyers by George H. Cain
Call Number: Law Library Treatise Collection KF297 .C24

Publication Date: 2010
Lawyers at Work by Clare Cosslett
Call Number: Law Library Treatise Collection K120 .C67 2012

Administrative Law

Careers in Administrative Law and Regulatory Practice by James T. O'Reilly
Call Number: Law Library Treatise Collection KF299.A32 C37 2010
The administrative law revolution : learning to litigate in a forgiving environment by Richard L. Hermann
ISBN: 9781946228130

Administrative Law
From the P.S.J.D. Career Guide

Alternative Careers

JD Advantage Jobs in Corporations by Richard L. Hermann
Call Number: Law Library Treatise Collection KF299.A1 H47
The New What Can You Do with a Law Degree by Larry Richard; Tanya Hanson; Deborah L. Arron
Call Number: Law Library Treatise Collection KF297 .A875 2012

Finding Alternative Careers in Law
American Bar Association Student Podcast
Molina, Selena E., and Chelsea Glynn. "A Tale of Two Attorneys: Stories of Nontraditional Legal Careers." TYL, vol. 22, no. 4, Summer 2018, pp. 8-9.

Alternative Dispute Resolution and Mediation

ADR as a First Career
"A video blog featuring stories of individuals who started out their professional careers in the ADR field."
International Arbitration
From Chambers Associate

Animal Law

Animal Law
American Bar Association's G.P. Solo; Via Westlaw (login required)

Careers in Animal Law (eBook) by Yolanda Eisenstein Contents: How I got started -- Our relationship with animals -- Animal law today -- Getting started -- Becoming an animal lawyer -- Nonlegal jobs, animals, and the law -- Animal protection and pro bono.
Call Number: KF299.A55 E37 2011 (ONLINE)

ISBN: 9781616329617

Publication Date: 2013

Careers in Animal Law (Podcast)
American Bar Association Podcast on the Legal Talk Network

Antitrust Law

Lawyers at Work by Clare Cosslett
Call Number: Law Library Treatise Collection K120 .C67 2012

See Chapter 9, Antitrust/Intellectual Property

10 Things To Know About Antitrust Practice
A series from Above the Law, written by Practical Law editors
Antitrust: The Basics
From Chambers Associate
ABA Section on Antitrust: Early Career Advice
On the Road Podcast

Banking, Finance, and Capital Markets

Financial services : a wealth of evolving opportunities by Richard L. Hermann
Call Number: Law Library Treatise Collection KF299.A1 H47
Lawyers at Work by Clare Cosslett
Call Number: Law Library Treatise Collection K120 .C67 2012

10 Things To Know About Capital Markets and Corporate Governance Practice
A series from Above the Law, written by Practical Law editors
10 Things To Know About Consumer Financial Regulatory Practice
A series from Above the Law, written by Practical Law editors
Becoming a banking and finance lawyer – the view from White & Case
From Chambers Associate
Banking and finance
From Chambers Associate
Becoming a financial services lawyer – the view from Dechert
From Chambers Associate
Wealth Management
From Chambers Associate

Bankruptcy Law

10 Things To Know About Bankruptcy Practice
A series from Above the Law, written by Practical Law editors
Bankruptcy
An episode of the a Practical Start to Your Career Podcast from Practical Law
What You Need to Know to Get Into Bankruptcy Law
From the American Bar Association for Students website
Bankruptcy
From Chambers Associate