Skip to Main Content

Job Search and Career Resources

Corporate M&A

Lawyers at Work by Clare Cosslett
Call Number: Law Library Treatise Collection K120 .C67 2012
See Chapter 8, Cross-Border M & A
Digital assets practice : three new practice opportunities in one by Richard L. Hermann
Call Number: Law Library Treatise Collection KF299.A1 H47 V.8
The Corporate, Securities, and M&A Lawyer's Job by Matt Swartz; Daniel E. Lee
Call Number: Law Library Treatise Collection KF1477 .L44 2007

10 Things To Know About Corporate M&A Practice
A series from Above the Law, written by Practical Law editors
Corporate and Public Mergers & Acquisitions
An episode of the a Practical Start to Your Career Podcast from Practical Law
Corporate M&A: The Basics
From Chambers Associate
Becoming a corporate/M&A lawyer – the view from Jones Day
From Chambers Associate
M&A in the middle market – the view from Jenner & Block
From Chambers Associate

Corporate Transactional Work (See also "In House Counsel")

Transactional Lawyering Skills by Richard J. Neumann
Call Number: Law Library Treatise Collection KF300 .N48 2013
Inside straight : advice about lawyering, in-house, and out that only the Internet could provide by Mark E. Herrmann
Call Number: Law Library Treatise Collection KF1425 .H47 2012

10 Things To Know About Commercial Transactions
A series from Above the Law, written by Practical Law editors
Necessary Skills for Transactional Work with Adam Landy
An episode of the Generation Y Podcast, sponsored by the American Bar Association’s Young Lawyers Division in connection with the Young Lawyer Toolkit.

Clerkships

In chambers : a guide for judicial clerks and externs by Jennifer L. Sheppard
Call Number: Law Library Treatise Collection KF8807 .S527 2012
ISBN: 9781454802891
Behind the bench : the guide to judicial clerkships by Debra M. Strauss
Call Number: Law Library Treatise Collection KF8771 .S77 2017
ISBN: 9781628103823

10 Things To Know About Clerking In The Federal District
A series from Above the Law, written by Practical Law editor

Criminal Law: General and Prosecution

Lawyers at Work by Clare Cosslett
Call Number: Law Library Treatise Collection K120 .C67 2012
See Chapter 3, Federal Prosecution

Criminal Law
From the American Bar Association's Career Choice Video Series
Tips for Young Lawyers on Succeeding in Public Defense, Crim. Just., Fall 2016.
Via Westlaw (Login Required)
Criminal Prosecution
From Yale Law School
Criminal Law
From the P.S.J.D. website
Becoming a white collar litigator – the view from Cahill
From Chambers Associate

Criminal Defense

How Can You Represent Those People? by Abbe Smith (Editor); Monroe H. Freedman (Editor)
Call Number: Law Library Treatise Collection KF9656 .H69 2013
ISBN: 9781137311931

A Criminal Defense Attorney's Story
American Bar Association's G.P. Solo; Via Westlaw
Why We Are Defenders, Champion, July 2016.
Via Westlaw (login required)

Education Law

The education sector : overwhelmed by the law by Richard L. Hermann
Call Number: Law Library Treatise Collection KF299.A1 H47 V.9

Education Law
From the P.S.J.D. Career Guide
Special Education Practices Small, but Growing
From the Legal Intelligencer; Via Lexis+ (login required)
Recent Law School Grads: I'm a Special Education Attorney, Please Join Me
From the Legal Intelligencer; via Lexis+ (Login required)

Elder Law

Elder law : riding the age wave by Richard L. Hermann
Call Number: Law Library Treatise Collection KF299.A1 H47

An Elder Care Lawyer's Story
American Bar Association's G.P. Solo; Via Westlaw
Why Elder Law?
American Bar Association's G.P. Solo; Via Westlaw (login required)

Election Law

Election Law
American Bar Association's G.P. Solo
Perkins Coie's Marc Elias on "Explosion" in Election Law
Law.com's Legal Speak podcast

Employee Benefits and Executive Compensation

10 Things To Know About Executive Compensation
A series from Above the Law, written by Practical Law editors
10 Things To Know About Employee Benefits and Executive Compensation
A series from Above the Law, written by Practical Law editors
Employee Benefits and Executive Compensation
An episode of the a Practical Start to Your Career Podcast from Practical Law

Energy and Environmental Law

Energy law : fueling a dynamic legal career by Richard L. Hermann
Call Number: Law Library Treatise Collection KF299.A1 H47 V.4

Environmental Law
From the P.S.J.D. Career Guide
Oil and Gas Law
American Bar Association's G.P. Solo; Via Westlaw (login required)
Energy and projects
From Chambers Associate
Climate Change and Renewable Energy
From Chambers Associate
Becoming an environment lawyer – the view from Allen & Overy
From Chambers Associate
Environmental Law--The Basics
From Chambers Associate