Skip to Main Content

Study Aids

Online Study Aids

Name and Description Who May Use the Resource?  How Do You Access the Resource?

Study Aids in Lexis Digital Library

Users can check out ebook versions of various study aids, including titles from the Mastering, Understanding, and Questions & Answers series. More than one user can have a book checked out at the same time. Users can read, bookmark, annotate, cut-and-paste, and highlight borrowed materials.

The checkout period for electronic study aid  books is two weeks after which time the item will expire; however, you will be able to check it out again. If you have used the OverDrive Read software, your annotations and highlights will still be available under your “History & Notes” section in OverDrive.

Users may check out a maximum of 10 items at any one time.
  • Restricted to Duquesne Kline faculty and students.       
  • To check out materials in Lexis Digital Library, you will need your MULTIPASS

CALI

CALI stands for the Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction. It is a non-profit organization. Most law schools in the country are CALI members.CALI provides online tools, lessons, and other learning resources on nearly all legal subjects. 

In addition to lessons on traditional legal topics, CALI also contains lessons on Law School Success topics such as note-taking, case briefs, exams, and grit.
  • Restricted to Duquesne Kline faculty and students.                                                                                                                                                             
  • You must register for an individual account. You will need an authorization code to set up the account. 
  • To obtain the CALI Student Authorization Code please login to DORI. The authorization code is available at the Law Library Service Desk as you enter the library.  Or you may email lawlibrary@duq.edu for the code.
  • Once you have the authorization code, you can register for an individual password using your "duq.edu" email address. 

Description

Users can check out ebook versions of various study aids, including titles from the Mastering, Understanding, and Questions & Answers series. More than one user can have a book checked out at the same time. Users can read, bookmark, annotate, cut-and-paste, and highlight borrowed materials. To see which titles are in the database, please click the series tab above to learn more.

How Do you Access the Resource?

  • You will need your MULTIPASS
  • Go select Lexis Digital Library from the DKLL homepage
  • Or select DigitalLibrary from within Lexis+ (you will still need your MULTIPASS)

Who has Access?

  • Duquesne Kline law students, faculty, and staff have access to Study Aids on Lexis Digital Library
  • Duquesne University community members may use a DKLL library computer to access the database as a guest. (subject to change)

Tips

  • Lexis Digital Library is a separate database from Lexis+
  • The checkout period for OverDrive books is two weeks after which time the item will expire; however, you will be able to check it out again.
  • If you have used the OverDrive Read software, your annotations and highlights will still be available under your “History & Notes” section in OverDrive.

Users may check out a maximum of 10 items at any one time.

CALI stands for the Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction. It is a non-profit organization. Most law schools in the country are CALI members.CALI provides online tools, lessons, and other learning resources on nearly all legal subjects. As a member school, all Duquesne Law students and faculty have access to CALI and can create an account at www.cali.org.

In addition to lessons on traditional legal topics, CALI also contains lessons on Law School Success topics such as note-taking, case briefs, exams, and grit.

How Do You Access the Resource?

  • You must register for an individual account. You will need an authorization code to set up the account.
  • To obtain the CALI Student Authorization Code please login to DORI. The authorization code is available under the School of Law Information Technology Resources on the bottom of the screen OR stop by the Duquesne Kline Law Library Service Center Desk as you enter the library and ask for the code.
  • Once you have the authorization code, you can register for an individual password using your "duq.edu" email address. 

Who has Access?

  • Duquesne Kline law students, faculty, and staff have access to CALI.

Tips

  • In addition to lessons on traditional legal topics, CALI also contains lessons on Law School Success topics such as note-taking, case briefs, exams, and grit.
  • Try using the Subject Outline view to get the best sense of what lessons are available on a topic.
  • Under the Dashboard tab, you can find a link for Lesson Runs. This shows you all the CALI Lessons that you have run during the current semester, a link to resume the Lesson unless it is marked as complete,  your score if any, and your professor's name if you ran the Lesson via LessonLink. If your professor's name is listed, then he or she should have received a copy of your score.
  • Most of the study resources on CALI are interactive tutorials. However, they have some podcasts on limited topics including contracts, payment systems, secured transactions, and academic success.
  • CALI lessons are interactive, meaning that students get individualized questions. If you miss a question, you might get additional questions on that topic to make sure that you master it. Therefore, the "circle" at the top of the screen may not close completely for some students.

Please contact lawlibrary@duq.edu if you have any questions.