Popular Database Overview

The new Brief Analysis tool allows you to upload a document and get research suggestions based on the text of the document. These research suggestions include references to relevant case recommendations, suggestions of similar briefs, pleadings, and motions, and a full Shepard's analysis of the cites in your document.

To use Brief Analysis:

1. Click on the Bref Analysis icon on the left side of the screen. 
2. Drag and drop your file into the box on the page or use the browse option to identify your file. Please note that you must use a Word document or a searchable .pdf. Click on upload. 
3. Review the information provided on the dashboard.

For More Information:

• Practical Guidance is arranged by Practice Area, and results can be limited by content type, jurisdiction, or industry. Available materials include Practice Notes, Forms, Clauses, Checklists, Articles, and other Secondary Materials. 
• Practical Guidance includes the State Law Comparison tool, which allows you to select a practice area, and then a topic to compare. A series of questions and jurisdictions appears; you make your selections and then create a customized report from the Excel, Word or PDF dropdown.

For More Information:

NOTE: You must click to watch the video on YouTube. You cannot watch from this screen because Lexis has not allowed that functionality.

Ravel View provides an interactive visual timeline representation of your search results. You can get to Ravel View when you are viewing a list of search results by clicking on the Ravel View icon, which is to the far right in the group of icons at the top of your search results. 

Ravel View graphically presents the top 75 results from your current results set. Cases are represented as individual circles. Larger circles represent more highly cited cases. The lines between the cases show you the relationships between the cases. Lines to cases that were decided before your base case are cases that your base case cites to; lines to cases that were decided after your base case represent cases that cite to your base case. The color of the line represents the Shepard's treatment of the relationship. 

The default sort order is by court. That can be changed to relevance. 

You can also refine your Ravel View Search Results by adding additional concepts, applying a set time parameter, or specifying different jurisdictions. 

For More Information: 

Context is a litigation analytics tool that provides background information on judges, expert witnesses, companies, and courts. Context helps you to identify which cases or other judges a particular judge tends to rely upon. It also provides information on how a judge rules on particular types of motions in particular types of cases. When you are in Lexis+, you can find Context by clicking on the square to the left of the Lexis+ logo.

For More Information:

Videos:

Judge Analytics on Context: 

Company analytics on Context:

Expert Witness Information on Context:

NOTE: You must click to watch the video on YouTube. You cannot watch from this screen because Lexis has not allowed that functionality.

Lexis Answers is an artificial intelligence tool that allows you to pose a natural-language query (in question form) and receive back a substantive suggested answer. You can narrow your request by jurisdiction. This service works best for the following types of information: legal definitions, statutes of limitations, standards of review, elements of a cause of action, defenses to a cause of action, burden of proof, and judicial profiles. 

For More Information:

Court Link allows the user to search a database of federal and state dockets. It also provides access to the underlying documents. Searches can be run by keyword or phrase. You can also search by litigant, attorney, or law firm. When you are in Lexis+, you can find Court Link by clicking on the square to the left of the Lexis+ logo.

For More Information: 

 Court Link Overview:

 Court Link Alerts:

 Searching in Court Link:

Document Retrieval in Court Link: