Skip to main content

Beyond Westlaw Edge and Lexis Advance: Database Overview

Introduction

This guide provides an overview of some commonly used databases and electronic resources beyond Westlaw and Lexis Advance.

Lists of Databases

Databases that Require Individual Passwords

In addition to Westlaw Edge and Lexis Advance, several other databases that are available to the Duquesne Law community require that the user create an individual account. Use the links below to create your accounts; to access these databases, please see the A-Z Database List. 

General Legal Research

  • Casetext/CARA A.I. (analyzes the text of a document to recommend related resources; good for double-checking your work or for locating relevant authority that an opponent's brief fails to cite) 
  • Bloomberg Law (general legal resources, PACER-like docket information, and news resources)
  • MyHein from HeinOnline (instruction sheet on MyHein, which allows users to save bookmarked documents and to get Table of Contents email alerts when a new issue of a particular journal is out)

News and Current Awareness

  • The New York Times (use this Multipass-protected link to set up an account; email newsletters are also available)
  • The Wall Street Journal (use this Multipass-protected link to set up an account; email newsletters are also available)

Study Aids

  • Quimbee (videos, quizzes, practice tests, and more)
  • CALI (interactive tutorials and short podcasts)
  • Courtroom Cast (editable, sharable text/ MP3 versions of cases organized by subject or casebook, plus some videos)